You are here

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

We inspected Kernow Home Care Limited on the 22 and 26 June 2017, the inspection was announced 24 hours in advance to ensure that the manager of the service would be available. This is in accordance with our current methodology for the inspection of home care agencies. The service was last inspected in January 2015. At that time the service was found to be good overall. We found the service remains good at this inspection.

The service provides care and support to adults of all ages, in their own homes In and around Penzance and St Just in the far west of Cornwall. This includes people with physical disabilities and dementia care needs. The service mainly provides personal care for people in short visits at key times of the day to help people get up in the morning, go to bed at night and with support to prepare meals.

People said they felt safe while receiving support and relatives told us people were safe. Staff understood local safeguarding procedures and how to recognise signs of potential abuse. They told us, “People are as safe as we can make them” and “Everybody seems safe”.

People’s care plans provided staff with sufficient detailed guidance to enable them to meet their care needs. These document had been reviewed and updated and included risk assessments and information for staff on how to protect people from identified areas of risk.

The service was short staffed. The registered manager recognised this issue and was in the process of actively recruiting additional staff members. In addition, the service was declining new care packages at the time of our inspection. Following the inspection the registered manger took action to ensure that the available staff team were able to meet people’s needs. People were aware of the staffing issues but reported this had not impacted on the quality of support they received. One person told us, “They are jolly good. They are short staffed but my golly they are cheerful and all very willing.” Staff commented, “Staffing is tight but we are getting it covered” and “It is not impacting on the people.” We found that were sufficient staff available to provide all of the service’s planned visits but this involved managers providing significant numbers of care visits.

Staff rotas were well organised and people normally received support from consistent small groups of care staff who they knew well. People told us, “They always turn up” and record showed that the service had only missed two care visit so far in 2017. The service used a mobile phone based application to share information about planned care visits with staff who told us, “We get the rota every Friday via e mail and on the App which is brilliant. It has a list of all the visits you have to do each day”.

Rotas included travel time between consecutive care visits and the service call monitoring data showed that people routinely received care visits on time and for the full duration. People told us, “They are seldom late”, “Very good for time, bit late for traffic occasionally but that is not their fault”, “They don’t rush me” and “It is mostly the same one so we have gotten used to each other.”

Recruitment procedures were safe and all necessary checks had been completed before new staff provided support. There were induction training procedures in place for new members of staff and all staff new to the care sector completed the care certificate. The registered manager was in the process of reviewing and updating the service’s training policies and had recently appointed a training lead to ensure staff training needs were managed. As part of this process analysis of the training needs had been completed and an action plan developed to ensure these needs were met. Staff had noticed improvements in the service’s training systems and told us, “The training is much better” and “There is a plan to improve the training.”

The service was acting within the legal framework of the Mental Capacity Act 2005(MCA). Mana

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.