You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 24 November 2017

Denehurst Nursing Home provides nursing and residential care for up to 33 older people in Ferryhill. There are two floors and people living with a dementia live on the upper floor and people with general nursing needs living on the ground floor. On the day of our inspection there were 32 people using the service.

The inspection took place on 3 November 2017 and was unannounced. This meant staff did not know we were visiting.

We last inspected the Denehurst Nursing Home in April 2015 and rated the service as Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

The service had a registered manager who was on a day off at the time of our visit. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The clinical lead was in attendance during the course of our inspection and we saw they were fully involved in all aspects of the day to day running of the home.

Staff and the management team understood their responsibilities with regard to safeguarding and staff had been trained in safeguarding adults. People we spoke with told us they felt safe at the home.

Where potential risks had been identified an assessment had been completed to keep people as safe as possible. Accidents and incidents were logged and investigated with appropriate action taken to help keep people safe. Health and safety checks were completed and procedures were in place to deal with emergency situations.

The home was clean, and we saw staff followed good practice in relation to wearing personal protective equipment when providing people with care and support. There was an investment programme of replacement windows planned and a new roof had recently been fitted as the exterior of the home looked tired.

Medicines were managed safely. We saw medicines being administered to people in a safe and caring way. People confirmed they received their medicines at the correct time and they were always made available to them.

We found there were sufficient care staff deployed to provide people’s care in a timely manner. We found that recruitment checks were carried out to ensure that staff were suitable to work with vulnerable people.

The registered manager shared learning from feedback and safeguarding events with the staff team through recorded meetings.

Staff received the support and training they required. Records confirmed training, supervisions and appraisals were largely up to date. Staff told us they were supported by the home’s management.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People gave positive feedback about the meals they were served at the home. People received the support they needed with eating and drinking by the chef who was trained in the support of people with nutritional needs.

We saw people’s healthcare needs were well monitored and the visiting nurse practioner we spoke with confirmed they had no concerns with the care provided at the service.

People were supported by care staff who were aware of how to protect their privacy and dignity and show them respect at all times.

People’s needs were assessed before they came to live at the service and then personalised care plans were developed and regularly reviewed to support staff in caring for people they way they preferred.

People were provided with end of life care by trained nursing and care staff.

An activity coordinator provided a range of activities and support for people to access the community.

People and staff were very positive about the management of the home. Many staff had worked at the service for a number of years and this a

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 24 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 24 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 24 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 24 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 24 November 2017

The service remains Good.