You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 30 June 2018

Heathcotes (Middleton) is registered to provide accommodation and personal care for up to seven people with a learning disability and/or mental health diagnosis. There were six people accommodated at the home on the day of the inspection.

At the last inspection of January 2018 the service was rated as good overall but there was a breach of the Health and Social Care Act (HSCA) 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. This was because recruitment processes were not sufficiently robust to adequately protect people from the risk of unsuitable staff. The service sent us an action plan detailing what improvements they would make to improve recruitment. At this announced inspection we found the service had made the improvements and recruitment was robust.

At our last inspection we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The manager was registered in February 2016.

Staff we spoke with were aware of how to protect vulnerable people and had safeguarding policies and procedures to guide them, which included the contact details of the local authority to report to.

Recruitment procedures were robust and ensured new staff should be safe to work with vulnerable adults. There were sufficient staff to meet people’s needs.

There was a medicines policy and guidance for staff around safe administration. Care givers had undertaken training and competency checks were regularly undertaken.

Staff were trained in infection control topics and issued with personal protective equipment to help prevent the spread of infection.

The service was working within the legal requirements of The Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA).

People received a nutritious diet and were encouraged to plan their diet, shop and where possible were supported to make their own meals.

Staff received an induction and were supported when they commenced employment to become competent to work with vulnerable people. Staff were well trained and supervised to feel confident within their roles. Staff were encouraged to take further training in health and social care topics such as a diploma.

People had a range of activities they could attend which was suitable to their age, gender, ethnicity and beliefs.

There was a relevant complaints procedure. There had not been any recent complaints.

There was a recognised management structure. Staff thought the service was well-led and the two people we talked to thought staff were approachable. We observed staff interacting with people who used the service in a friendly and appropriate manner.

There were systems to check the quality of service provision to help management maintain and improve standards.

The service liaised well with other organisations to help meet people’s health and social care needs.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 30 June 2018

The service improved to good.

The recruitment of staff was robust and ensured they were safe to work with vulnerable adults.

There were systems to safeguard people from abuse.

The administration of medicines was safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 30 June 2018

The service remained effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 30 June 2018

The service remained caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 30 June 2018

The service remained responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 30 June 2018

The service remained well-led.