You are here

The Old Vicarage Outstanding

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Outstanding

Updated 22 May 2018

The inspection took place on 27 March 2018. The inspection was unannounced and carried out by one inspector.

We last visited the service in December 2015 where we found a breach of the regulation relating to good governance. We rated the service as good. Following the inspection, the registered manager sent us an action plan stating what action they were going to take to improve.

At this inspection in March 2018, we found that action had been taken and the provider was meeting all the regulations we inspected against. In addition, the registered manager and provider had introduced a number of changes and had further developed the service. We rated the caring and responsive key questions as outstanding which meant the overall rating for the service is outstanding.

The Old Vicarage is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The Old Vicarage accommodates 18 people over two floors. Some of the people living at the home had a dementia related condition. There were 17 people living at the home at the time of the inspection.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We found that staff were exceptionally caring. We observed kind, caring and thoughtful interactions between staff and people. Staff were highly motivated and committed and spoke with pride about the importance of ensuring people's needs were held in the forefront of everything they did. People, relatives and staff were able to give numerous examples about how staff went "above and beyond" to meet people's needs.

The service was extremely responsive. People and relatives described the responsiveness of staff as "Outstanding." Staff found inclusive ways to meet people's needs and enable them to live as full a life as possible. A creative activities programme was in place to help meet people's social needs. There was a complaints procedure in place and people knew how to complain.

People told us that they felt safe at the service. There were no ongoing safeguarding concerns. Medicines were managed safely. Checks were carried out to ensure that prospective staff were suitable to work with vulnerable people. There were sufficient staff deployed. Staff carried out their duties in a calm unhurried manner.

Staff told us, and records confirmed that training was available. There was an appraisal and supervision system in place and all staff told us they felt supported.

People's nutritional needs were met and they had access to a range of healthcare services.

Action had been taken following our last inspection with regards to monitoring the quality and safety of the service. Audits and checks were carried out to monitor the service. Our observations and findings on the day of our inspection confirmed that the provider now had an effective quality monitoring system in place. Staff were very positive about working at the home. We observed that this positivity was reflected in the care and support which staff provided.

We had been informed of all notifiable events at the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service was safe.

There were safeguarding procedures in place. Medicines were managed safely.

The premises were clean. Checks and tests had been carried out to ensure that equipment and the premises were safe.

Recruitment checks were carried out to ensure that staff were suitable to work with vulnerable people. There were sufficient numbers of staff deployed to meet people's needs.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service was effective.

Staff told us, and records confirmed that training was available. There was an appraisal and supervision system in place.

Staff followed the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 in their work.

People's nutritional needs were met and they were supported to access healthcare services.

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 22 May 2018

The service was exceptionally caring.

Staff demonstrated a real empathy for the people they cared for. We observed kind, caring and thoughtful interactions between people throughout our inspection.

Staff were highly motivated and committed and spoke with pride about the importance of ensuring people's needs were held in the forefront of everything they did.

The service used inclusive methods to help people communicate and express their wishes and preferences.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 22 May 2018

The service was exceedingly responsive.

Staff knew how to meet people's preferences and used inclusive ideas to ensure that people had an enhanced sense of wellbeing and exceptional quality of life.

A creative activities programme was in place. People and relatives told us that staff had gone the extra mile to find out about their previous hobbies and interests to enable these to be continued at the Old Vicarage.

There was a complaints procedure in place. Inclusive feedback systems were in place

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 May 2018

The service was well led

Action had been taken and there was now an effective quality monitoring system in place.

There was a registered manager in place. People, relatives, staff and health and social care professionals spoke very highly of her.

Staff liaised with the local schools, churches and entertainers to ensure important local connections were maintained.

All staff informed us they enjoyed working at the home. We observed that this positivity was reflected in the care and support which staff provided throughout the day.