You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

Our inspection took place on 11 May 2017 and was unannounced. At our last inspection on 22 and 27 October 2015 we rated the service ‘requires improvement’ and identified four breaches of regulations. These related to the assessment of risks associated with people’s care and treatment, understanding of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA), lack of systems to ensure accidents and incidents were robustly investigated and people living with dementia not being offered the same choices as other people using the service. We asked the provider to submit an action plan to show how improvements in these areas would be made. At this inspection we found they had followed their action plan and were now meeting the requirements of these regulations.

Walton Manor is on the outskirts of Wakefield and is situated in well-kept, private grounds. The home provides personal care and support for up to 47 older people, some of whom are living with dementia. There were 32 people using the service when we inspected.

There was a registered manager in post on the day of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. There had been a change in registered manager since our last inspection.

People told us they felt safe living at Walton Manor. We found there were sufficient staff to provide safe care and support, and the provider ensured staff had guidance to follow to minimise any risks associated with people’s care and support needs.

Staff recruitment was safe, and staff we spoke with understood how to recognise potential abuse and their responsibility to report it.

We found the premises were well maintained, and regular servicing of equipment was up to date.

People received safe support with their medicines. Medicines were stored safely and securely, and we found record keeping was accurate.

Staff were provided with the training and on-going support required to remain effective in their roles. People told us they were confident in the staff’s ability to provide effective care and support, and we saw people had access to other health and social care professionals when this was needed.

People received appropriate support with decisions they could not make for themselves. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives, and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice

We received very good feedback about the caring nature of the staff and registered manager. We observed good practice throughout our inspection. For example, we saw people’s privacy and dignity was respected and found the home had a relaxed and sociable atmosphere.

People and their families were encouraged to participate in the writing of their care plans, and we saw these contained meaningful information staff could use to help build caring relationships with people.

Care needs were assessed before people started to use the service, and we saw care plans were regularly reviewed to ensure they reflected people’s up to date needs. There were plans in place to involve people and their families in this process.

People had access to a wide range of activities which they said they enjoyed. People who lived at Walton Manor were able to make suggestions for activities they wished to undertake. Several community and educational groups were also involved in providing activities for people.

There were policies and procedures in place to ensure complaints were responded to appropriately. People told us they knew how to make a complaint, and they and their relatives said they found the registered manager approachable.

We received good feedback about the registered manager. We saw they were a fa

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service was safe

People lived in a well maintained, homely environment with sufficient staff on duty to provide safe care and support. People told us they felt Walton Manor was a safe home.

The provider followed safer recruitment practices which ensured people who were barred from working with vulnerable people were not employed in the home.

People’s medicines were well managed. Records were well kept, storage was well managed and secure, and people received pain relief when they needed it.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service was effective.

Staff were provided with regular training and support which helped them remain effective in their roles. People who used the service were supported to access other health and social care professionals as they needed.

People were supported to make decisions appropriately. Where people were not able to make the decision to live at Walton Manor, the registered manager had ensured the appropriate safeguards were in place.

People enjoyed the food at Walton Manor, and were all given choices at each mealtimes.

Caring

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service was caring.

We observed caring practice from the staff, and saw people’s privacy and dignity was respected.

People and their relatives gave positive feedback about the caring nature of the staff and registered manager.

People and their relatives were actively involved with writing their care plans, which contained detailed information about their lives, preferences and interests.

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service was responsive

The provider assessed people’s needs before they started to use the service, and used this information to produce care plans for each person. We saw these were reviewed regularly to ensure they were kept up to date.

People were able to take part in a wide range of activities, and they told us they enjoyed what was on offer. The residents committee helped plan the activity programme.

There were responsive procedures and systems in place to ensure complaints were resolved. The provider ensured people knew how to raise complaints and concerns.

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service was well-led

There was a registered manager in post when we inspected. They were not the registered manager when we last inspected. We received positive feedback about their management style from people, their relatives and staff. We found the provider and registered manager had acted to address the breaches of regulation identified at our last inspection.

There were effective quality monitoring systems in place. Action plans were written and followed to ensure required improvements were made.

People who used the service and staff were consulted in the running of the home, and told us they were listened to by the registered manager.