You are here

Ocean Recovery and Wellness Centre

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 17 January 2018

This was an unannounced focused inspection relating to issues identified at a previous inspection in March 2017.

Following the inspection in March 2017, we issued two warning notices. They were issued under Regulation 12 (safe care and treatment) and Regulation 17 (good governance) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

On this inspection we found

  • The provider had made significant changes and had met the requirements of both warning notices.
  • Client risk was effectively managed. Risks were assessed and identified during the assessment process. Risk management plans were in place and being followed. Physical observations were being carried out in accordance with best practice and withdrawal symptoms were being monitored.
  •  Medication was being administered in line with identified prescribing regimes. Staff had been assessed as competent to administer medication. Prescription charts and medication administration records were completed properly, signed and dated. Medication was stored safely.
  • The service was auditing the quality of care. The team manager conducted weekly audits of client records. The provider completed a quarterly quality and compliance audit.
Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 17 January 2018

We do not currently rate independent standalone substance misuse services.

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • Staff assessed client risk on admission. Risk assessments were of a good quality. Risk management plans were in place. Risks identified during the assessment process were addressed in the plan.
  • Staff managed and administered medication safely. Medication was stored appropriately. Prescription charts and medication administration records were fully completed, signed and dated.
  • Staff had been assessed as competent to administer medication. Medication had been administered in line with prescribing regimes.
  • Staff had access to two adrenaline pens in the event of an allergic reaction. Both pens were in date and staff had received training on how to use them.

Effective

Updated 17 January 2018

We do not currently rate independent standalone substance misuse services.

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • Staff monitored clients physical health and withdrawal symptoms. Staff completed Clinical Institute Withdrawal Assessment for Alcohol during the first phase of detoxification.
  • The service was auditing the quality of care records, physical health monitoring and the administration of medication

Caring

Updated 17 January 2018

Responsive

Updated 17 January 2018

Well-led

Updated 17 January 2018

We do not currently rate independent standalone substance misuse services.

We found the following areas of good practice:

  • The service was auditing the quality of care it provided.
Checks on specific services

Substance misuse services

Updated 17 January 2018

This was a focused inspection

Residential substance misuse services

Updated 5 May 2017