You are here

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 16 August 2013
Date of Publication: 10 September 2013
Inspection Report published 10 September 2013 PDF

Overview

Inspection carried out on 16 August 2013

During an inspection looking at part of the service

This was a short, focused visit, to check that the compliance actions left at our visit in May 2013 had been met.

At our visit in May 2013 systems in place did not ensure that the service was monitored effectively. For example housekeeping practices were not sufficient to ensure the home was maintained to a good standard.

At this visit we found that practices had improved. For example audits were being undertaken to monitor the services people received such as environmental audits, laundry audits and kitchen audits. The home had been awarded a four star rating by the environmental health officer in July 2013.

At our visit in May 2013 one person and their relative told us about a concern they had raised and said they had received no feedback regarding this. The registered manager told us that this person had received verbal feedback regarding the investigation. Following our inspection in May the registered manager sent us a copy of the letter sent to this person and their relative informing them of the outcome of the investigation.

At our visit in May 2013 we were unable to look at how complaints had been investigated as the registered manager advised us that the complaints log had been mislaid.

At this visit a complaints log was in place to demonstrate that complaints were recorded and responded to appropriately.