You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 5 April 2019

Our previous comprehensive inspection at the Isokinetic Medical Group on 3 May 2018 found breaches of regulations relating to the safe delivery of services. The full comprehensive report on the previous inspection can be found on our website at: www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-1686963441.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 19 February 2019 to check that the service was meeting the regulations and to consider whether sufficient improvements had been made.

At this inspection, we found the service had made improvements. However, there were areas highlighted during the previous inspection where improvements are still required.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this service was not providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the service was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

Isokinetic Medical Group is an independent clinic in central London, which provides a sports and exercise medicine related healthcare service. The service offers services for adults and children.

This service is registered with CQC under the Health and Social Care Act 2008 in respect of some, but not all, of the services it provides. Therefore, we were only able to inspect the services provided by the doctors which included screening, assessment, diagnosis, follow-ups and referrals but not the osteopathy, physiotherapy, hydrotherapy and on-field rehabilitation services.

The managing director is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Our key findings were:

  • The service had demonstrated improvements in relation to calibration of clinical equipment, business continuity planning and fire safety risk assessment.
  • Infection control audits had been carried out and a spill kit was available.
  • We found some staff had not received training relevant to their role. However, we saw training sessions had been booked in the near future.
  • We found most administrative staff had not received a formal appraisal within the last 12 months. The service informed us they had planned dates to complete appraisals in the near future.
  • The service had not taken steps in a timely manner to ensure all necessary recruitment checks were in place and records kept in staff files including evidence of satisfactory conduct in previous employment in the form of references and health checks.

We identified regulations that were not being met and the provider must:

  • Establish effective systems and processes to ensure good governance in accordance with the fundamental standards of care.

You can see full details of the regulations not being met at the end of this report.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 5 April 2019

Effective

Updated 5 April 2019

Caring

Updated 5 April 2019

Responsive

Updated 5 April 2019

Well-led

Updated 5 April 2019