You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 9 May 2018

This inspection was an announced focused inspection on 19 December 2017, under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008. The purpose of the inspection was to follow up on Requirement Notices that we issued following a joint inspection with Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Prisons (HMIP) in January 2017, and to check that the provider was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Act.

This report covers our findings in relation to those aspects detailed in the Requirement Notices dated 14 June 2017 in the joint HMIP/CQC report, in respect of dental services.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 9 May 2018

We did not inspect the safe domain in full at this inspection. We inspected only those aspects detailed in the Requirement Notice issued in June 2017 as a result of the joint inspection with HMIP in January 2017.

At this focused inspection, we found that the provider had taken adequate action to address risks identified in January 2017 and improved the clinical environment. Decommissioned dental equipment had been removed from the dental surgery, current equipment was well maintained, and the clinical areas complied with current infection control standards.

Effective

Updated 9 May 2018

We did not inspect the effective domain at this inspection.

Caring

Updated 9 May 2018

We did not inspect the caring domain at this inspection.

Responsive

Updated 9 May 2018

We did not inspect the responsive domain at this inspection.

Well-led

Updated 9 May 2018

We did not inspect the well-led domain in full at this inspection. We inspected only those aspects detailed in the Requirement Notice issued in June 2017 as a result of the joint inspection with HMIP in January 2017.

At this focused inspection, we found that communication between health providers had improved significantly, with more regular meetings and examples of integrated working evidenced. There was a comprehensive system of jointly-agreed policies in place, including clear incident reporting procedures, and Time for Teeth Limited had improved their quality assurance process through regular audits. Staff had adequate access to support through more regular supervision.