You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 September 2018

This inspection took place on 21 and 22 August 2018 and was unannounced.

Heathcotes (Blackburn) is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The values of the service reflected those that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These included choice, independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities using the service could live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

Heathcotes (Blackburn) is registered to provide accommodation and personal care for 13 people. On the day of our inspection there were 12 people residing in the service who were living with a learning disability and/or mental health diagnosis and complex needs.

The service had a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons.' Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Heathcotes (Blackburn) on the 6 and 7 June 2017. The overall rating from this inspection was ‘Requires Improvement’, with ‘Good’ in responsive. There were three breaches of the Regulations in relation to unsafe management of medicines, lack of induction, training and supervisions for staff and the provider had not notified the Commission of incidents which affected the safety of people using the service. We also made recommendations about infection control and quality assurance audits.

Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key question(s), is the service safe, is the service effective and is the service well led? During this inspection we found the necessary improvements had been made and the overall rating has therefore improved to Good.

Risk assessments were in place to keep people safe. We saw individual risk assessments were in place in relation to people’s health care needs. We also saw risks in the environment had been considered to ensure the safety of people who used the service, staff and visitors.

Medicines were managed safely. Staff had received training in administering medicines and their competencies were checked regularly. We found medicines were stored safely, the medicine administration records were completed without any gaps and controlled drugs were safely stored.

Recruitment systems and processes in place were robust. We saw references, identity checks and Disclosure and Barring Service checks were completed before staff were employed. People who used the service told us and records we looked at showed adequate numbers of staff were on duty.

We have made a recommendation in relation to the cleanliness of the service.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

All new staff members were expected to complete an induction when they commenced employment. Training courses were available to staff which were relevant to their roles. Staff members told us and records confirmed that staff members received supervisions and appraisals on a regular basis. All staff members told us they were able to discuss any training requirements they had.

During our inspection we noted an incident which we felt required bringing to the attention of the registered manager. This was around the lack of communication between one staff member and a person who was visually impaired when mobilising around the service. However, we also observed lots of positive interactions where staff displayed a caring attitude and kind

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 September 2018

The service was safe.

Medicines were managed safely within the service. Only staff members who had received training were permitted to administer. Paperwork we looked at had been completed correctly.

Staff members had received training in safeguarding and knew their responsibilities to report any concerns. All the relatives we spoke with felt their family member was safe.

Recruitment systems and processes were robust. There were policies and procedures the guide the registered manager when recruiting new employees.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 September 2018

The service was effective.

All the staff we spoke with confirmed they had completed an induction when commencing employment. The registered manager confirmed all staff were required to complete the Care Certificate.

All the people we spoke with who used the service told us the food in the service was good. We saw all dietary needs were catered for, including cultural.

We saw the service gained people's consent to care and treatment in line with the Mental Capacity Act 2005. Capacity assessments and best interest meetings had been undertaken for specific decisions.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 14 September 2018

The service was not always caring.

During our inspection we noted an incident which we felt required bringing to the attention of the registered manager. This was around the lack of communication between one staff member and a person who was visually impaired when mobilising around the service.

Throughout the inspection we also observed caring and sensitive interactions from staff. There was a calm atmosphere within the service.

We observed throughout our inspection, that people�s privacy was respected. Curtains and doors were closed when people were being supported with personal care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 September 2018

The service was responsive.

All the people we spoke with who used the service told us they regularly accessed the community to undertake activities. We observed a number of activities being undertaken throughout our inspection.

People had been involved in the development and review of their support plans. These were detailed and gave staff a clear picture of a person�s likes and dislikes.

Support plans also identified people�s cultural and spiritual needs. We saw one person was supported to attend church on a weekly basis at their request.

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 September 2018

The service was well led.

Since our previous inspection, there was a manager in place who had registered with the Commission.

Audits in place within the service were sufficiently robust to identify issues and concerns. We saw action plans were in place to address findings of audits.

Policies and procedures were in place to guide staff in their roles and were reviewed to ensure they remained current. There was also easy read policies and procedures for people who used the service.

Notifications the registered manager should submit to the Commission had been made. This meant we were able to see if appropriate action had been taken to ensure people were kept safe.