You are here

Jasmine House Nursing Home Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 30 September 2020

About the service

Jasmine House Nursing Home is a residential care home providing personal care, accommodation and nursing care to up to 79 people aged 65 or over. There were 35 people living at the service at the time of our inspection, some of whom were living with dementia. The service comprises of two units, Hawthorne and Jasmine each of which has separate adapted facilities.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People were not always protected from a risk of harm and we found concerns about risk management and medicines. People were not always protected in an event of an evacuation. The provider’s system to identify safeguarding concerns, monitor accidents and environmental safety needed improving.

We received mixed feedback about staffing levels with some people commenting they at times needed to wait to be supported. The provider followed safe recruitment practices.

Although we recognised the changes implemented by the new management team and further improvements planned, we found the provider’s governance remained ineffective. We took this into consideration when making judgement to ensure the most proportionate regulatory response to the concerns identified.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 18 December 2019) and there were multiple breaches of regulation. We issued a warning notice in relation to breaches of regulations relating to safe care and treatment and good governance. The provider was required to be compliant with the breaches of the regulations relating to safe care and treatment and good governance by 5th January 2020.

At this inspection we found improvements had not been made and the provider was still in breach of regulations around safe care and treatment and good governance. Additionally, we identified another breach around not notifying us of incidents of suspected abuse.

Why we inspected

We undertook this focused inspection to check the provider was compliant with the regulations and to confirm they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to the Key Questions: Safe and Well-led, which contain those requirements.

The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for those key questions not looked at on this occasion were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection. The overall rating for the service remains requires improvement. This is based on the findings at this inspection. This is the second consecutive requires improvement rating for the service.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Jasmine House Nursing Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Enforcement

We are mindful of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. We were unable to inspect the service as initially planned. We wrote to the provider requesting evidence to be sent to us. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what enforcement action was necessary and proportionate to keep people safe as a result of this inspection. We will continue to discharge our regulatory enforcement functions required to keep people safe and to hold providers to account where it is necessary for us to do so.

We will continue to work with our partner agencies and to monitor the service through the condition we have already placed on their registration which requires them to send us monthly updates in respect of their quality assurance processes to ensure this improvement is sustained.

Follow up

We will meet with the provider following this report being published to discuss how they will make changes to ensure they improve their rating to at least good. We will work with the local authority to monitor progress. We will return to visit as per

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 30 September 2020

The service was not safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 30 September 2020

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 30 September 2020

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 30 September 2020

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 30 September 2020

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.