You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 22 March 2018

We carried out a focused inspection of Aesthetic and Implant Dentistry on 6 March 2018.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who had access to telephone support from a dental clinical adviser.

We carried out the inspection to follow up concerns we originally identified during a comprehensive inspection at this practice on 26 September 2017 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions.

At a comprehensive inspection we always ask the following five questions to get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment:

  • Is it safe?
  • Is it effective?
  • Is it caring?
  • Is it responsive to people’s needs?
  • Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions is not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area where improvement was required.

At the previous comprehensive inspection we judged the practice was not providing well-led care in accordance with Regulation 19 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Aesthetic and Implant Dentistry on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements to put right the shortfalls and deal with the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 26 September 2017.

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 14 November 2017

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and processes to provide safe care and treatment. They used learning from incidents and complaints to help them improve.

Staff received training in safeguarding and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report concerns.

Staff currently employed were qualified for their roles. The practice needed to improve how it recruited staff to ensure they followed current legislation.

Premises and equipment appeared clean and properly maintained. The practice followed national guidance for cleaning, sterilising and storing dental instruments. There were some minor improvements which should be made to the infection control processes.

The practice had arrangements for dealing with medical and other emergencies. The practice should ensure it followed relevant guidance when checking equipment and ensuring they had all necessary equipment available.

Effective

No action required

Updated 14 November 2017

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentists assessed patients’ needs and provided care and treatment in line with recognised guidance. Patients described the treatment they received as informative, professional and that they received clear explanations of treatment. The dentist discussed treatment with patients so they could give informed consent and recorded this in their records.

The practice had clear arrangements when patients needed to be referred to other dental or health care professionals.

The practice supported staff to complete training relevant to their roles and had systems to help them monitor this.

Caring

No action required

Updated 14 November 2017

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received feedback about the practice from 16 patients. Patients were positive about all aspects of the service the practice provided. They told us staff were excellent, ethical and respectful. They said that they were given helpful, honest explanations about dental treatment, and said their dentist listened to them. Patients commented that they made them feel at ease, especially when they were anxious about visiting the dentist.

We saw that staff protected patients’ privacy and were aware of the importance of confidentiality. Patients said staff treated them with dignity and respect.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 14 November 2017

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice’s appointment system was efficient and met patients’ needs. Patients could get an appointment quickly if in pain.

Staff considered patients’ different needs. This included providing facilities for disabled patients and families with children. The practice had access to telephone/face to face interpreter services and had arrangements to help patients with sight or hearing loss.

The practice took patients views seriously. They valued compliments from patients and told us they would respond to concerns and complaints quickly and constructively.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 22 March 2018

The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included having in place policies for the recruitment of staff in accordance with regulations. We saw evidence of staff correctly recruited. The improvements provided a sound footing for the ongoing development of effective governance arrangements at the practice.