You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at The Leys. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Inadequate

Updated 20 August 2020

About the service

The Leys is a residential care home that can provide care and support for older people and people living with dementia. The service is registered to provide personal care to a maximum of 33 people. At the time of inspection 18 people were using the service.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

There was a continued lack of understanding, oversight and governance systems to ensure people received a safe service. Systems that were in place were not implemented effectively and audits did not identify ongoing concerns with the service.

Records of care had not been consistently completed. Audits had not identified the gaps in recording found during inspection.

The provider was not complying with a condition of their registration. There was insufficient staff adequately deployed at night time.

People’s hydration needs were not always monitored, and timely action was not taken to address concerns where people’s fluid intake was low. People were at increased risk of pressure sores because they were not always repositioned in line with the care plan. Injuries or bruising people had sustained had not always been investigated or reviewed.

Infection control procedures required strengthening to manage the risk of cross contamination.

The environment continued to require improvements to decoration and maintenance.

Medicines were safely managed, staff had been safety recruited and completed an induction. People told us they felt safe and the staff supporting them were kind.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection

The last rating for this service was inadequate (published 29 January 2020) the provider was in breach of regulations 9, 12, 14, 17 and 18.

This service has been in Special Measures since 29 January 2020.

At this inspection enough improvement had not been made/ sustained, and the provider was still in breach of regulations.

Why we inspected

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 10, 11 and 12 December 2019. Breaches of legal requirements were found in relation to person-centred care, meeting peoples nutritional and hydration needs, safe care and treatment, staffing and governance.

Before this inspection we received concerns in relation to documentation recording management of risk. As a result, we undertook a focused inspection to review the key questions of safe and well-led only.

We reviewed the information we held about the service. No areas of concern were identified in the other key questions. We therefore did not inspect them. Ratings from previous comprehensive inspections for those key questions were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection.

The overall rating for the service has not changed following this focused inspection and remains inadequate.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for The Leys on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Enforcement

We are mindful of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what enforcement action was necessary and proportionate to keep people safe as a result of this inspection. We will continue to discharge our regulatory enforcement functions required to keep people safe and to hold providers to account where it is necessary for us to do so.

We have identified breaches in relation to safe care and treatment, staffing and good governance at this inspection.

Full information about CQC’s regulatory response to the more serious concerns found during inspections is added to reports after any representations and appeals have been concluded.

Follow up

The overall rating for this service is ‘Inadequate’ and the service remains in ‘special measures’. This means we will keep the service under review

Inspection areas

Safe

Inadequate

Updated 20 August 2020

The service was not safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 24 March 2020

The service was not always effective.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 24 March 2020

The service was not always caring.

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 24 March 2020

The service was not always responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 20 August 2020

The service was not well-led.

Details are in our well-Led findings below