You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

We inspected the service on 7 November 2018. The inspection was unannounced. Middlegate Lodge is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The service accommodates up to six people living with mental health needs, a learning disability or have misused drugs and or alcohol.

On the day of our inspection five people were living at the service.

The service had been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen. However, people were given choices and their independence and participation within the local community encouraged.

At our last inspection on 8 March 2016 we rated the service ‘good.’ At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of ‘good’ There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People continued to receive a safe service. They were protected from avoidable harm, discrimination and abuse. Risks associated with people’s needs including the environment, had been assessed and planned for and these were monitored for any changes. People did not have any undue restrictions placed upon them.

People continued to receive an effective service. Staff received the training and support they required to meet people’s individual needs, including meeting their nutritional needs. Staff worked well with external health care professionals and people were supported to access health services when required. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the home supported this practice. The principles of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) were followed.

People continued to receive care from staff who were kind, compassionate and treated them with dignity and respected their privacy. Staff had developed positive relationships with the people they supported, they understood people’s needs, preferences, and what was important to them. Staff knew how to comfort people when they were distressed and made sure that emotional support was provided. People’s independence was promoted.

People continued to receive a responsive service. People were involved with assessing and planning for their care needs and regularly reviewing their progress. They were supported to pursue their interests and hobbies, and social activities were offered. There was a complaints procedure in place and people knew how to use the procedures when required.

The service continued to be well led. There was an open and transparent and person-centred culture within the service. People were encouraged to give their views on how the service was run and there were systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service provided.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 November 2018

The service remains well-led.