You are here

Archived: Bentley Lodge Care & Nursing Home Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 2 November 2016

The inspection took place on 6 and 7 October 2016 and was unannounced. Quinta Nursing Home is registered to provide accommodation and support to 41 people. At the time of the inspection there were 25 people living there.

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 16 and 17 May 2016. Breaches of legal requirements were found in relation to safeguarding, clinical governance, safe care and treatment, consent, and requirements relating to workers. The provider was served with two warning notices requiring them to meet the safeguarding regulation by 4 July 2016 and the clinical governance regulation by 12 September 2016. Following the comprehensive inspection, the provider wrote to us to say when they would meet the legal requirements in relation to safe care and treatment, consent and requirements relating to workers.

We undertook this focused inspection to check that they had met the requirements of the two warning notices and followed their action plan in relation to the breaches of the other three regulations. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for Quinta Nursing Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they felt safe. Staff were provided with relevant information to enable them to safeguard people and understood their role. Where incidents had occurred staff had completed an incident form and a body map where required. The registered manager took appropriate actions and reported potential safeguarding incidents to Social Services as the lead agency as required.

People told us the service was clean. Staff were provided with appropriate infection control guidance which they followed they also used the personal protective equipment provided. Previously damaged and worn furniture and equipment such as bed sides and commodes had now been replaced to ensure they could be cleaned thoroughly. Cleaning of the service was completed in accordance with the cleaning schedule and checks were made upon the quality of the cleaning of the service for people.

Processes were in place to ensure potential staff had a sufficient grasp of English for their role. Staff’s suitability for their role had been assessed by the provider however, not all staff had provided a full employment history dating from when they left full-time education. The registered manager took prompt action during the inspection to ensure the required evidence in relation to employment history was obtained for all staff.

People’s written consent to the content of their care plan had been sought and where people lacked the capacity to consent to their care legal requirements had been met.

A range of audits had been completed and were being used to drive improvements for people. Audits were being used to enable the registered manager to identify any trends in incidents and falls both across the course of particular months and across time. People’s views were being sought by the registered manager to enable them to identify areas for improvement.

There was written guidance about people’s diabetes care on their records for staff’s reference. People’s re-positioning and mattress records were complete. People’s fluid charts had been completed by care staff and totalled. The clinical lead took action during the inspection to ensure people had a target fluid intake. The registered manager took action during the inspection to ensure a staff member was delegated to print off photographs of people’s wounds and place them in their

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 2 November 2016

We found that action had been taken to improve safety.

People were kept safe from the risk of abuse.

The service was properly cleaned and staff followed infection control guidance in order to protect people from the risk of acquiring an infection.

Relevant employment checks had been completed for staff. The registered manager took prompt action during the inspection to ensure the required evidence in relation to employment history was available for all staff. Further time was required for this to become embedded into practice.

While improvements had been made we have not revised the rating for this key question; to improve the rating to �Good� would require a longer term track record of consistent good practice.

We will review our rating for safe at the next comprehensive inspection.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 2 November 2016

We found that action had been taken to improve effectiveness.

Legal requirements in relation to people�s consent for their care and treatment had been met.

While improvements had been made we have not revised the rating for this key question; to improve the rating to �Good� would require a longer term track record of consistent good practice.

We will review our rating for effective at the next comprehensive inspection.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 6 July 2016

The service was not consistently caring.

Overall staff respected and promoted people�s privacy and dignity. However, improvements were required to ensure this was people�s consistent experience of all staff.

Most people reported and were observed to experience positive relationships with staff. However, further improvement was required to ensure this was people�s consistent experience.

People were supported to express their views and to be actively involved in making decisions about their care.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 6 July 2016

The service was not consistently responsive.

The manager had completed work on peoples� care plans and further work was planned to ensure they were individualised and responsive to people�s needs.

Staff spent limited time with people during the day interacting with them. Although in the early evening staff were observed to spend more time with people.

Not everyone felt satisfied with the activities programme. The manager was aware of this and had plans to improve the activities schedule for people.

People felt more confident in raising concerns. The manager had sought feedback on the service and was actively addressing any issues identified during this process.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 2 November 2016

We found that action had been taken to improve well-led.

Processes were in place to enable the service to improve the quality of the care provided to people.

Improvements had been made to the standard of record keeping but further time was required for some of these changes to become embedded into practice.

While improvements had been made we have not revised the rating for this key question; to improve the rating to �Good� would require a longer term track record of consistent good practice.

We will review our rating for well-led at the next comprehensive inspection.