You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Maple View. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 February 2019

About the service:

Maple View is a residential care home that provides personal care and support registered for up to five people with a sensory impairment, learning disability and/or autistic spectrum disorder. People using the service live in a purpose built bungalow, located within a residential community setting alongside four other individually registered services run by the same provider. On the day of our inspection there were five people living in the service.

Rating at last inspection:

At our last inspection, the service was rated ‘Requires Improvement’. Our last report was published on 9 January 2018.

Why we inspected:

This was a planned inspection based on the rating at the last inspection.

People’s experience of using this service:

We previously inspected Maple View in November 2017 where the service was rated ‘Requires Improvement’. This was because we found that since our inspection in June 2015 where the service was rated ‘Good’ there had been a deterioration in the quality of care. There was a breach of Regulations 9, 12, 17, 17 and 18 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

At this inspection the provider had made good improvements to the service since our last inspection on 8 and 22 November 2017.

• Staff received better training, induction, supervision and support so they could effectively perform their roles.

• The registered manager had resolved issues surrounding the recording, investigation and analysis of incidents and accidents.

• Governance of the service had improved. Systems had been put in place for auditing the quality and safety of the service with action plans produced.

• People and relatives told us the staff were kind, friendly and supportive of their needs. Staff knew people's needs well.

• People’s safety had been considered and risks had been reduced by improved risk management systems.

• Medicines were managed safely.

• Care plans had been reviewed and systems put in place to enable ongoing review with people’s changing needs updated in a timely manner.

• People told us they were satisfied with the quality and variety of food they were provided with. People were supported to develop skills in food preparation and cooking.

• Referral for specialist support was accessed when needed. For example, in relation to management of behaviours that may present a risk, continence needs and support for people with sight and hearing impairment.

• The outcomes for people using the service reflected the principles and values of Registering the Right Support. People were provided with choice and control with opportunities to gain new skills and become more independent.

• The service met the characteristics for a rating of ‘Good’ in all the key questions we inspected. Therefore, our overall rating for the service after this inspection was ‘Good’.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 February 2019

The service was safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 February 2019

The service was effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 27 February 2019

The service was caring.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 February 2019

The service was responsive

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 February 2019

The service was well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.