You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 July 2018

Livingstone House is a care home providing support for up to 19 people with a learning disability Spread over four floors with level access throughout and lifts to all floors, each floor has its own kitchen and lounge areas. A communal lounge was also available on the ground floor for people to meet and socialise.

At the time of our inspection on 21 June 2018, 14 people lived at the service. At our last inspection on 06 January 2016, we rated the service Good. At this inspection, we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Staff knew how to keep people safe from the risk of harm. People received support to take their medicines safely. Risk was well assessed and we saw guidance in place to ensure risks were minimised with as little impact as possible on people's independence. There were enough staff to keep people safe and meet their needs.

Peoples care and support needs had been assessed which were reflected in their support plans. The care provided by staff was in line with this.

Staff received effective support in the form of on-going training, induction and appraisals. Staff were motivated and worked together with strong teamwork and high morale.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Staff asked people's consent before any care or support was given, and we saw people had access to health and social care professionals when needed.

Menus were planned by people who used the service, and we saw people could choose and prepare meals for themselves.

Staff were kind and compassionate in the way they delivered support to people. There was a positive and fun atmosphere and we saw people and staff knew each other well. People's cultural and communication needs were well met.

People were confident they could raise concerns if they needed to and these would be addressed. There was a good approach to planning and supporting activities which people wanted to participate in.

The registered manager ensured the service was well run. There was a clear vision for the service, and we saw records and practice which demonstrated it was embedded in the service. Staff told us the registered manager and senior team were approachable, and we saw people who used the service felt free to approach them.

Further information is in the detailed findings below

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 July 2018

The service remained Good

Effective

Good

Updated 27 July 2018

The service remained Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 27 July 2018

The service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 July 2018

The service remained Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 July 2018

The service remained Good.