You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

This comprehensive inspection took place on 16 October 2018 and was unannounced. The last comprehensive inspection took place in March 2018, when we identified four breaches of Regulation. People did not always receive care and treatment which was person-centred and met their needs. The registered provider did not always act in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act 2005. The provider did not always ensure there were sufficient staff available to meet people’s needs in a timely manner. There was a lack of governance and oversight as the service had not been effectively managed. The service was rated as inadequate and was placed in special measures.

Following the last inspection, we asked the registered provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do to improve the service.

At this inspection we checked if improvements had been made. We found that the provider had addressed all the concerns raised at our last inspection and made sufficient improvement to meet the requirements of the regulations. The overall rating of the service improved to good. You can read the report from our last inspections, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Hatfield House’ on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Hatfield House is a ‘care home.’ People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Hatfield House is a purpose-built care home located in the Hatfield area of Doncaster. Some people using the service are living with dementia. The service can accommodate up to 48 people over three floors. At the time of our inspection there were 39 people using the service.

At the time of our inspection the service did not have a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The provider had appointed a manager who had worked at the home from March 2018 and was in the process of registering with the CQC.

There had been changes in the management team and they were beginning to establish and lead the service. Systems in place to monitor the service had not always identified areas of concern and required further embedding into practice.

People were safeguarded from the risk of abuse. Staff confirmed they received training in this subject and could explain what actions they would take if they suspected abuse.

Risks associated with people’s care were identified and managed appropriately which kept them safe.

There were sufficient staff available to support people who used the service in a timely manner.

Medication was predominantly managed in a safe way as errors had been identified and followed up. However, the documentation regarding medicine management could be improved.

The service was clean and people were protected against the risk of infections.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Staff received the training and support required for them to carry out their roles effectively. People received support from healthcare professionals when required and their advice was followed.

People were supported to maintain a healthy and balanced diet which included their choices and preferences.

We observed staff interacting with people who used the service and found they were kind, caring and considerate. Staff respected people’s privacy and dignity and involved them in their care and support.

The service was responsive to people’s needs. Care records we looked at contained current information req

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was safe.

Medication was managed safely and administered by staff who had completed appropriate training.

People were safeguarded from the risk of abuse.

Risks associated with people�s care had been identified and were managed appropriately.

People were supported by sufficient numbers of staff.

The service was clean, well maintained and infection prevention and control procedures were followed.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was effective.

Staff were supported to carry out their role.

People had access to healthcare professionals when required.

The service was meeting the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

People received a healthy and balanced diet which met their needs.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was caring.

People received care and support from a staff team who were kind and compassionate in their approach.

We observed staff interacting with people and found they maintained people�s privacy and dignity.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was responsive.

The service was responsive to people�s needs and care records were accurate.

People enjoyed a range of social activities.

The provider had a complaints procedure and handled complaints in a positive manner.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was well led, but systems required embedding.

Audits were in place to monitor the service but did not always identify concerns.

People had a voice and the provider offered various opportunities for people to be involved in the service.