You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 September 2018

This inspection took place on 30 July 2018 and was unannounced. This meant no-one at the service knew we were planning to visit.

Herries Lodge is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Herries Lodge provides accommodation and personal care for up to 47 older people with a range of support needs, including people living with dementia. The home is an adapted building over three floors, with access to a garden. At the time of our inspection there were 45 people using the service.

Our last inspection of Herries Lodge took place on 7 September 2016. We rated the service good overall, but requires improvement in the key question of well-led. We found there was a breach of Regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014; good governance. This was because the maintenance certificates for the fire alarm system, emergency lighting system and the emergency call bell system had expired in March or April 2016 and this had not been identified by the service’s health and safety audits.

Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do, and by when, to improve the key question of well-led to at least good. At this inspection we found sufficient improvements had been made to meet the requirements of regulation 17. The necessary maintenance certificates for the premises and for equipment used by the service were up to date. The provider had an effective system in place to monitor this.

At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the overall rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

There was a registered manager employed at Herries Lodge. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they felt safe. There were enough staff available to meet people's needs in a timely way and to keep people safe. However, we have made a recommendation about the system the service uses to calculate staffing levels within the home.

Staff understood what it meant to protect people from abuse. They told us they were confident the management team would take any concerns they raised seriously. The registered manager made appropriate referrals to the local safeguarding authority when this was necessary.

Medicines were stored safely and securely, and procedures were in place to ensure people received their medicines as prescribed.

Procedures for recruiting new staff had recently been improved to help make sure the staff employed at the service were of suitable character.

Staff received a range of training which the provider considered to be mandatory. Staff told us they were happy with the training they received and felt it supported them to do their roles. People living at Herries Lodge told us the staff were well trained.

People told us the staff were kind and caring. During this inspection we observed the staff treat people with kindness, dignity and respect.

Staff were supervised regularly by the management team however we saw that supervisions did not always take place as frequently as the provider’s supervision policy required. We have made a recommendation about the service’s supervision procedures.

People were asked for consent before care was provided to them. Where pe

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 September 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 7 September 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 7 September 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 7 September 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 7 September 2018

The service has improved to good.