You are here

Archived: Moorgate Lodge Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 October 2017

The inspection took place on 21 September 2017 and was unannounced. The last comprehensive inspection took place in July 2015, when the provider was meeting the regulations and was rated good. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Moorgate Lodge’ on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Moorgate Lodge is a care home which provides care for up to 56 older people. The home also provides nursing care. The service in located on the outskirts of Rotherham. The home is divided into three units on three different floors. There is plenty of parking and people have access to secure gardens. At the time of our inspection there were 54 people using the service.

At the time of our inspection there was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We spoke with people who used the service and they told us they felt safe living at the service. Staff we spoke with knew what action to take if the suspected abuse and knew how to protect people. Staff felt the registered manager would act on any concerns they brought to their attention.

We spoke with people and their relatives and observed staff interacting with people throughout the inspection. We found there were enough staff available to respond to people when they required support.

The provider had a system in place to ensure people received their medicines in a safe way and as prescribed.

Staff had been recruited to work at the home using a safe recruitment system. This ensured that pre-employment checks were carried out prior to staff commencing employment. Staff who had not worked in care prior to their appointment at the service completed the ‘Care Certificate.’ This was based on fundamental skills and knowledge required for working in a care setting. All staff employed completed an induction to the service which included general information about the home and any training required prior to them commencing their role.

People we spoke with told us they enjoyed the meals provided at the home. We observed meals to be nutritious, appetising and people’s preferences were considered. Staff provided appropriate support to people who required assistance with eating and a relaxed atmosphere was evident.

The provider was meeting the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. Care records clearly evidenced the support people needed to make decisions about their care. People were involved in their care and staff sought consent prior to completing a task.

Staff were trained and supported to do their job well. Staff knew people well and supported and understood their needs well. People had access to health care professionals when required.

We observed staff interacting with people who used the service and found they were kind and caring. Staff involved people in their care and maintained their privacy and dignity.

People received care which was in line with their current needs. Social stimulation was provided by two activity co-ordinators who arranged a variety of different events. People knew how to raise concerns and were confident that any problems would be rectified.

The service was led by a management team who were supportive to staff and people who used the service and their relatives. People were asked their views and opinions about the home and were involved in meetings to discuss them. The service conducted audits to ensure the home was providing a good service. Any issues identified were addressed

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 October 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 18 October 2017

The service was effective.

At out last inspection in July 2015, this domain was rated as requires improvement. At this inspection we found the service was good.

Staff were trained to carry out their role and felt they had the appropriate skills to do their job.

The service was meeting the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

People received food and nutrition which was appetising and met their dietary requirements.

People had access to health care professionals when they required their support and intervention.

Caring

Good

Updated 18 October 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 October 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 October 2017

The service remains Good.