You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Carr Croft Care Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

This comprehensive inspection took place on the 2 and 14 November 2018 and was unannounced.

Carr Croft Care Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Carr Croft Care Home is registered with the Care Quality Commission to provide accommodation and personal care for up to 35 older people some of whom may be living with dementia. There were 30 people using the service at the time of this inspection.

At our last inspection in February 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

There was no registered manager at the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. A new manager, who had been the previous registered manager of the service, had been appointed and was due to re-commence shortly after our inspection. An acting manager and the provider had managed the service in the interim period.

People continued to feel safe using the service and staffing levels were sufficient to provide safe care. We found some improvements were needed to fully ensure the safe management of medicines. The acting manager took prompt action to ensure the issues with the management of medicines were addressed by the end of the inspection. People were protected from avoidable harm as staff received training and understood how to recognise signs of abuse and who to report this to. Safe recruitment practices were followed to make sure staff were suitable to work with vulnerable adults. Staff were trained in good hygiene practice and were supplied with personal protective equipment such as gloves and aprons.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; policies and procedures in the service supported this practice. Staff asked for people's consent before providing any care and understood the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA). People and their relatives had been involved in assessments of care needs and had their choices and wishes respected.

The provider had a plan in place to ensure staff attended required training. We received positive feedback about the effective care and support provided. People told us staff were well trained. Staff were supported in their on-going development through supervision and appraisals. Staff said they received good support from the provider.

People received appropriate support to meet their nutritional needs. People’s nutritional needs were assessed and monitored and they enjoyed the food and variety of choice available to them. The service worked well with health professionals such as nurses, doctors and occupational therapists to promote people's health needs.

There was a positive and inclusive culture at the service. The provider promoted a culture of dignified and respectful care. People told us they were supported by staff who were kind, caring and compassionate. Staff knew people well and made sure people received care and support that was personal to their needs and was responsive to any changing needs. Care plans were person-centred and gave good detailed guidance for staff to follow.

People and their relatives had regular contact with the acting manager or provider and re

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

The service remains Good.