You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 29 May 2018

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Hans Place Practice on 22 November 2012. The full comprehensive report on the inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Hans Place Practice on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 18 April 2018 in response to a concern raised with the commission regarding the safety of the theatres and access to them. This report covers our findings in relation to the concern.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Our key findings were:

  • There was a system to manage infection prevention and control.
  • Staff understood their responsibilities to manage emergencies on the premises and to recognise those in need of urgent medical attention.
  • The practice held emergency drugs, oxygen, and a defibrillator that the nurse checked daily.
  • The provider and nurse had completed their basic life support and infection control training in 2017.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Review the practice’s risk assessments and protocols to ensure they include the information regarding the evacuation of the theatre.
Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 29 May 2018

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

  • There was a system to manage infection prevention and control.

  • Staff understood their responsibilities to manage emergencies on the premises and to recognise those in need of urgent medical attention.

  • The practice held emergency drugs, oxygen, and a defibrillator that the nurse checked daily.

  • The provider and nurse had completed their basic life support and infection control training in 2017.

Effective

Updated 29 May 2018

Caring

Updated 29 May 2018

Responsive

Updated 29 May 2018

Well-led

Updated 29 May 2018