You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 October 2018

John Cabot House care home accommodates 8 people in one adapted building. John Cabot House is registered to provide accommodation and personal care to eight people. Two people are accommodated in self-contained flats and up to six people can be accommodated in the main house which has six en-suite bedrooms. The service specialises in providing care for people with an acquired brain injury.

The inspection took place on 22 August 2018 and was unannounced. At our last inspection in July 2017 we had found one person’s apartment had no working lighting. The provider had not acted to resolve this within a suitable timescale.

We had found there was not always sufficient skilled and experienced staff to provide support to people. Also, there had been a lack of staff training to effectively meet people’s needs. Some people had told us they felt some staff were not kind and caring in manner towards them. One person at our last inspection had not been out from the home for nearly three weeks. This conveyed they were not being fully supported with community based activities at that time. Finally, we had found that action had not been taken to address the concerns and shortfalls that had been picked up at our inspection at that time. This had meant that the quality checking systems at that time were not fully effective.

Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key questions is the service safe? is it effective? is it caring? is it responsive? is it well led? to at least good.

There was a registered manager for the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run

At this inspection we found that actions had been taken to address the shortfalls that we found at our last visit. We saw that rooms were safe because they all had working lighting. The provider had put in place a robust checking system. This was to ensure any environmental health and safety matters were reported and addressed swiftly.

There were now sufficient skilled and experienced staff to provide effective support to people. There was also a full training programme for staff in place to effectively meet people’s needs.

People told us that all the staff were kind and caring in manner towards them. We also saw that the team on duty all conveyed a warm, positive and caring approach to the people they supported.

At this inspection there was clear evidence that all people who wanted too, were well supported to go out from the home daily. This showed that people were now well supported with community based activities.

We also found that actions were taken to address any concerns and shortfalls in the service. This showed that the provider's quality checking systems were now up to date and effective.

People said that the staff that supported them were always kind and caring in manner. People at the home engaged with staff in a positive way with the staff who provided them with personal care and other support.

People spoke highly of the food they were supported to prepare and cook. Staff encouraged people to build up independence in their daily living skills.

People's legal rights were being respected. Staff understood the need to seek consent before all care was offered to people. The staff also understood the basic principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. Staff knew people had the right to make unwise decisions in their dally life.

The team of staff and the people we met told us they now felt supported by the registered manager, senior staff and senior managers.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 October 2018

The service had improved to good and was now safe

There were enough staff on duty at any time to keep people safe.

There were systems in place to protect people from the risk of harm and abuse.

People's medicines were managed safely.

People were protected from the risks of unsuitable staff being employed by the provider's recruitment procedures.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 October 2018

The service had improved to good and was now effective

Staff were formally supervised and supported. A training programme was in place to ensure staff knew how to meet the needs of people they supported.

People enjoyed the food and drink options. They were supported to make choices and to build up independence with meal preparation and menu planning.

People's legal rights were protected because staff understood the Mental Capacity Act 20015 and how this was used when they did have capacity to make decisions.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 October 2018

The service had improved to good and was now caring

People felt that staff were kind and caring towards them .

People�s privacy and dignity was respected and upheld by the staff who supported them.

People were really well supported to build up their independence and to make choices in their daily life.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 October 2018

The service had improved to good and was now responsive.

Care and support was planned flexibly and was responsive to people�s needs.

People took part in social and therapeutic activities of their choosing both in and out of the home.

People were well supported to make their views known about the home and the service they received.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 October 2018

The service had improved to good and was now well led.

There was a quality monitoring system in place to monitor the service and to drive improvements. This was effective as it identified shortfalls in the service.

Staff and people felt supported by the registered manager, senior staff and senior management.