You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 24 May 2018

Colwill Lodge provides accommodation and personal care for people living with and/or a learning disability/ physical disability for up to 15 people on a respite basis. People live at the service usually for short arranged periods on a regular basis or for longer whilst suitable permanent accommodation is sought. People carry on their weekly activities during their stay therefore there are rarely people at the service during the day. The service is owned and operated by Plymouth City Council and at the time of our inspection approximately 75 people accessed the respite service. We looked at records relating to the 62 people who received personal care. There are 10 beds for respite care and 5 independent living flats.

At our last inspection in February 2016, we rated the service good overall with the area of responsive rated as requires improvement. We carried out a focussed responsive inspection in July 2017 and found the area of responsive was still rated as requires improvement. During this inspection in April 2018 we looked at whether the areas noted in responsive had been addressed. We had found in July 2017 that some people still did not always have care plans in place to help

provide guidance and direction to staff about how to meet their needs. We found in April 2018 that there had been a lot of work carried out to ensure all care plans had been devised so that staff could follow individualised information and meet people’s needs consistently.

At this inspection we found the evidence relating to other areas continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 24 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 24 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 24 May 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 24 May 2018

The service has improved to Good.

People had care plans in place to help provide guidance and direction to staff about how to meet their individual needs.

People were supported to take part in a range of activities.

People were supported to express their views on the service.

Well-led

Good

Updated 24 May 2018

The service remains Good.