You are here

Archived: St Claire's Nursing Home Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 23 June 2017

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection on 1 and 3 November 2016. Breaches of two legal requirements were found. After the inspection, the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches.

At the last inspection on 1 and 3 November 2016 we found that the provider was not meeting the standards of care we expect. This was in relation to the provider not taking into consideration the complex needs of people and there were insufficient staff to meet people’s needs. Also people had not been involved in the formation of their care plans, which had not been updated or adhered to by staff.

We undertook this focused inspection on 1 June 2017 to check that the provider had followed their plan and to confirm they now met the legal requirements. During this inspection on the 1 June 2017 we found the provider had made improvements in the areas we had identified.

This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for St Claire’s Nursing Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

St Claire’s Nursing Home provides care for people who require personal care. It provides accommodation for up to 40 people. At the time of the inspection there were 36 people living at the home.

There was not a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The current manager had commenced her application to become the registered manager with CQC.

On the day of our inspection we found that the registered provider had ensured that sufficient suitably trained staff were available to meet people’s needs. They had taken into consideration the complex needs of people and people’s needs were reviewed on a regular basis so staff were working with up to date information.

People and where necessary their family or other advocates were involved in the planning of their care. Care plans were updated on at least a monthly basis. A new system was being put in place so staff could access information more easily in the care plans and accurately record information.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 23 June 2017

We found that action had been taken to improve the safety of the service.

This meant that the provider was now meeting legal requirements.

The provider had taken into consideration the complex needs of people when looking at staffing levels.

There were sufficient staff to meet people�s needs.

While improvements had been made we have not revised the rating for this key question; to improve the rating to �Good� would require a longer term track record of consistent good practice.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 June 2017

Caring

Good

Updated 23 June 2017

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 23 June 2017

We found that action had been taken to improve the responsiveness of the service.

This meant that the provider was now meeting legal requirements.

People, their relatives and where necessary other advocates had been involved in the planning of their care.

Staff ensured care plans were reviewed on a regular basis and were developing a new format to ensure information could be accessed more easily.

While improvements had been made we have not revised the rating for this key question; to improve the rating to �Good� would require a longer term track record of consistent good practice.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 23 June 2017