You are here

Archived: Oldfield House Residential Care Home Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 16 August 2018

This inspection took place on 24 and 25 July 2018. The first day was unannounced.

Oldfield House Residential Care Home provides accommodation and personal care for up to 19 people. The home caters for older people, including those living with dementia. The home has bedrooms and bathrooms on both the ground floor and first floor, with three rooms having en-suite bathrooms. On the day of our inspection there were 15 people residing in the service.

Oldfield House Residential Care Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The service was managed by a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons.' Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection of 10 and 11 July 2017 we found breaches of Regulations 10, 12 and 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 in respect of privacy and dignity, safe management of medicines and storage of confidential information.

Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key questions, is the service safe, Is the service caring, Is the service well-led, to at least good. We checked the action plan had been followed during this inspection and found significant improvements had been made; we have rated this service as Good overall.

The registered manager had considered risks that people presented with. We found risk assessments were in place in relation to skin integrity, mobility, falls and nutrition. These provided guidance to staff on managing risks.

Equipment that was available throughout the service, such as, hoists, stand aids, walking frames and wheelchairs, had been maintained and serviced regularly to ensure they were safe for use.

All the people we spoke with who used the service and staff members, told us there were sufficient staff on duty every day. We observed throughout our inspection that staff were not rushed and had time to sit and chat with people.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

Staff told us, and records we looked at showed, that staff undertook an induction when they commenced employment within the service. Training records showed that staff had access to many different courses.

We saw the registered manager worked well with other healthcare professionals and services when people were moving into the home. Records evidenced that GP’s, district nurses, podiatrists and other health care professionals were contacted to meet people’s health care needs.

All the people we spoke with were very complimentary about the meals in the service. We saw people were given plenty of choices over the meals they had. Those who required support with eating their meals were supported in a sensitive manner.

During the inspection, we observed staff interacted with people in a sensitive, respectful and caring manner. We saw staff lowered their tone if they were speaking about a personal issue with someone, would bend down to the same eye level as the person they were speaking to and allowed people the time to express themselves.

Care plans we looked at were person centred. These were detailed to meet people’s needs and to direct staff. We saw people were involved in the development and review of these.

Records we looked at showed that the registered manager continuously sought ways to improve the service.

Pol

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 August 2018

The service was safe.

People who used the service told us they felt safe. All the staff we spoke with told us they had undertaken safeguarding training and knew their responsibilities to report concerns.

There were robust recruitment systems and processes in place to ensure that staff were suitable to work with vulnerable people.

Medicines were managed safely within the service. Only staff who had undertaken the necessary training were permitted to administer medicines. Competency checks were undertaken to ensure staff remained knowledgeable.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 August 2018

The service was effective.

Staff we spoke with told us they had undertaken an induction when they commenced employment. Training and supervisions were also done on a regular basis. Staff felt supported in their roles.

People who used the service were very complimentary about the meals within the service and the cook. People were supported to eat and drink enough to maintain a balanced diet. People were given plenty of choices of food at mealtimes.

People�s care records included information about their medical history and any needs or risks related to their health.

Caring

Good

Updated 16 August 2018

The service was caring.

All the people we spoke with told us staff were kind and caring. We observed interactions from staff that were sensitive, respectful and kind.

People�s privacy and dignity was respected. There were policies and procedures for staff about caring for people in a dignified way.

All personal and confidential information relating to people who used the service and staff, was kept securely.

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 August 2018

The service was responsive.

People were involved in the development and review of care plans. We saw they had signed to confirm their involvement. Care plans were detailed and reflected people�s needs.

There was a range of activities available to people and throughout our inspection we saw people were stimulated. Staff initiated sing along or a game of dominoes. There were also pre-planned activities such as a trip out.

People who used the service told us they were able to make their own choices, such as what they wanted to wear for the day.

Well-led

Good

Updated 16 August 2018

The service was well-led.

There were policies and procedures for staff to follow good practice. These were accessible for staff and provided them with guidance to undertake their role and duties.

There were systems in place to monitor the quality of care and service provision at the service.

The registered manager sought feedback on the service in order to improve and develop. This was achieved through surveys, meetings with people who used the service, their relatives and staff members and the use of a suggestion box.