You are here

St Aidan Lodge Residential Care Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

St Aidan Lodge Residential Care Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home provides personal care for up to 62 people. At the time of the inspection there were 52 people living at the service, some of whom were living with a dementia. The home provides care over two floors serviced by a lift. The laundry, kitchen and other rooms for staff use are located on the ground floor.

This inspection took place on 31 October and 2 November 2018 and the first day was unannounced.

At our last inspection on 7 and 9 March 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns.

This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection. The home was meeting the requirements of the fundamental standards.

People, relatives and staff felt the service was still a safe place. People were protected from the risk of abuse because staff understood how to identify and report it.

People told us there were always enough staff on duty and that their needs were attended to promptly. We observed this to be the case during our visits.

People received their medicine safely and were supported to access the support of health care professionals when needed.

Where risks were identified to people who used the service or to the environment these were assessed and plans put in place to reduce them. Accidents and incidents were analysed to identify trends and reduce risks.

People’s needs had been assessed to identify their care needs. Assessments were detailed and covered all aspects of their care needs.

Staff were well supported and received the training they needed. Training was delivered face to face and was arranged on a rolling programme to meet the requirements of the home.

People were very complimentary about the meals provided. They received a varied and nutritional diet that met their preferences and dietary needs. The service provided a range of nutritional food and drink which were adapted for different diets.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People told us they thought the service was very caring and we observed compassionate and caring interactions between people and staff. People told us, and we observed, that care was delivered with dignity and respect and people were supported to be as independent as possible.

Care plans were very detailed and reflected people’s needs and preferences. Care plans were evaluated regularly and included meaningful information about people’s needs.

People were actively engaged in a range of activities and had regular opportunities to access the wider community. Opportunities for staff to share their hobbies and skills with people was being explored but was still in development.

Feedback on the service was encouraged in a range of ways and was positive. People told us they did not have any concerns about the service but knew how to raise a complaint if needed.

The management team were approachable and they and the staff team worked in collaboration with external agencies to provide good outcomes for people. Processes were in place to assess and monitor the quality of the service provided and drive improvement. All levels of management were highly invested in the home and committed to delivering a quality service.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.