You are here

Norvic Healthcare Anglia Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 8 October 2021

About the service

Norvic Healthcare Anglia is a domiciliary care service providing personal care to people living in their homes. At the time of the inspection they were supporting 80 people, 70 of whom were receiving the regulated activity of personal care.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People who used the service usually had the same regular staff who cared for them. They spoke highly of the care received and the experience levels of the staff. A number of the carers had gone 'over and above' their role for example with taking people to the doctors and ensuring they had enough food during difficult times, such as bad weather.

People were informed if their visits were going to be late and there were enough staff to ensure care visits took place and for the allotted time duration.

People knew who the manager was and who to speak to if they had any concerns. People and relatives told us, they felt they would be listened to and actions taken to resolve their issues

We have made a recommendation about reviewing systems to identify when medication has not been given and reasons, taking appropriate action.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 26 July 2019). The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection some improvement had been made, but the provider was still in breach of regulations.

Why we inspected

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this service on 20 June 2019.

We undertook this focused inspection on 13 July 2021 to check they had followed their action plan and to confirm they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to the Key Questions Safe and Well-led which contain those requirements.

The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for those key questions not looked at on this occasion were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection. The overall rating for the service has remained requires improvement. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Norvic Healthcare Anglia on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Enforcement

We are mindful of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what enforcement action was necessary and proportionate to keep people safe as a result of this inspection. We will continue to monitor the service.

We have identified a breach in relation to regulatory notifications to CQC, at this inspection.

Follow up

We will ask the provider to complete an action plan, to confirm when and how they will make improvements. We will meet with the provider following this report being published to discuss how they will make changes to ensure they improve their rating to at least good. We will work with the local authority to monitor progress. We will return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 October 2021

The service was safe

Effective

Good

Updated 8 October 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 8 October 2021

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 October 2021

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 8 October 2021

The service was not always well-led