You are here

Solent Cliffs Nursing Home Limited Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 January 2019

What life is like for people using this service:

•At our last inspection in August 2016, the provider was found to be in breach of Regulation 18 (Failure to notify). At this inspection, we found improvements had been made and all notifiable events were being reported to the Care Quality Commission (CQC).

•The provider supported staff to provide effective care for people through person-centred care planning, training and supervision. They ensured the provision of best practice guidance and support met people's individual needs.

•People participated in a range of activities that met their individual choices and preferences. Staff understood the importance of this for people and provided the structured support people required. This enabled people to achieve positive outcomes and promoted a good quality of life.

•The service met the characteristics of Good in all areas.

•More information is in the full report.

Rating at last inspection: The service was last rated Good, last report published 19 August 2016.

About the service: Solent Cliffs is a care home that was providing personal and nursing care to 31 people at the time of the inspection.

Why we inspected:

This was a planned inspection based on the rating at the last inspection. We found improvements had been made in Well Led since our last inspection and the service had met the characteristics of Good in all areas. The inspection was also prompted in part by notification an incident following which a person using the service sustained an injury. The information shared with CQC about the incident indicated potential concerns with moving and handling. We checked this in looking at the quality and safety of the service. Information of concern had also been shared with the Commission regarding the provision of end of life care and person-centred care. We looked into these concerns as part of the inspection process.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 January 2019

The service remained safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 January 2019

The service remained effective

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 January 2019

The service remained caring

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 January 2019

The service remained responsive

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 January 2019

The service improved to well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.