You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

Woodlands is a residential care service providing accommodation and personal care for up to 22 people. The service provides rehabilitative care for people with severe and enduring mental health illnesses and learning disabilities. At the time of our inspection there were 16 people using the service. The service is situated in a residential area of Southport near to local amenities.

Woodlands is a ‘care home’. People in ‘care homes’ receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided and both were looked at during this inspection.

This was an unannounced inspection which took place on 21 January 2019. The last inspection was in June 2016 when the service was rated as ‘Good.' At this inspection we found evidence continued to support the rating of ‘Good’ and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The service had a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.' Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the service is run.

We found that staff’s suitability to work with vulnerable adults at the service had been checked prior to employment. For instance, previous employer references had been sought and criminal conviction checks undertaken.

Medication was managed safely and was administered by staff who were competent to do so. People who wished to self-medicate were supported by staff to do so safely, this helped to promote their independence.

Appropriate arrangements were in place for checking the environment was safe. For example, health and safety audits were completed on a regular basis and accidents and incidents were reported and recorded appropriately.

Care records contained detailed information to identify people’s requirements and preferences in relation to their care. People we spoke with told us that they had a choice in how they lived their lives at the service.

Staff sought consent from people before providing support. Staff we spoke with understood the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) to ensure people consented to the care they received. The MCA is legislation which protects the powers of people to make their own decisions.

Staff had received training which equipped them with the knowledge and skills to ensure people received adequate care. Staff had also received more specific training to meet the needs of people living with mental health illnesses and learning disabilities.

People were involved in their care and there was evidence in their care records to show that they had been consulted about decisions. We saw evidence that people’s hobbies and interests were recorded and catered for. For example, one person enjoyed attending the gym and staff actively supported them with this.

Quality assurance processes were in place to seek the views of people using the service and their relatives.

We asked people about how they thought the service was managed and their feedback was positive.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remained safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remained effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remained caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remained responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 February 2019

The service remained well-led.