You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 September 2017

At the last inspection in June 2015 the service was rated Good.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Rainbows House, on our website at www.cqc.org.uk’

Rainbows House is a care home providing respite care for younger people with a learning disability. It can accommodate up to four people at any one time. One of the four bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom. One room can meet the needs of people with physical disabilities, with tracking hoist and walk in shower installed. There is a communal lounge and kitchen and a small accessible well maintained garden. The service is situated in West Melton, near Rotherham. At the time of our inspection there were 15 people who regularly accessed the service. Two people were staying at the service on the day of our visit.

At this inspection on 24 August 2017 we found the service remained Good. The service met all relevant fundamental standards.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Staff were knowledgeable about how to recognise signs of potential abuse and aware of the reporting procedures. Assessments identified risks to people and management plans to reduce the risks were in place.

We received extremely positive from relatives of people who used the service. Relatives told us the service provided safe care.

Recruitments procedures ensured the right staff were employed to meet people’s needs safely. However, not all pre employment checks had been obtained but procedures were being improved at the time of our inspection.

Medication systems were in place to ensure people received medication as prescribed and safely. Staff had received training to administer medications safely.

At the time of the inspection there was sufficient staff on duty to meet people’s needs. Relatives told us that during the respite stays there was adequate staff to facilitate regular activities.

People were supported to have choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible.

People were treated with respect .Relatives told us staff were kind and very caring. Staff we spoke with understood how to respect people’s preferences and ensure their privacy and dignity was maintained. We observed staff took account of people’s individual needs and preferences while supporting them.

There was a system in place to tell people how to raise concerns and how these would be managed. Relatives we spoke with told us they hadn’t had to raise any concerns but wouldn’t hesitate if required. They added they would feel comfortable raising any concerns with the management team.

Relatives were very happy with how the service was run. There were systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service provided. Action plans were implemented for any improvements required and these were followed by staff. The quality monitoring had identified that some improvements were required and had been commenced.

Staff were clear about their roles and responsibilities and had access to policies and procedures to inform and guide them.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 September 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 September 2017

The service remains Good.