You are here

Home Support Services (Havering & Essex) Limited Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

This announced inspection took place on 26 April 2018. At our previous inspection on 22 March 2016 the service was rated Good with a breach relating to notifications and monitoring systems. At this inspection we found the service had improved and the overall rating remained Good.

This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community. It provides a service to older adults and younger disabled adults. On the day of our inspection there were 160 people using the service in the London boroughs of Havering and Essex.

On the day of our visit we met the two registered managers. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Medicines were administered safely with the exception of the recording of topical creams and medicines in blister packs. We recommended that best practice guidelines were followed.

People told us they were happy with the care they received. They told us they were treated with dignity and respect by staff who were polite and kind.

Staff were aware of the safeguarding guidelines in place and knew the steps to take to record any abuse.

Risks to people were assessed with clear actions to take to reduce the identified risks. These were known and understood by staff.

Infection control guidelines were followed in order to keep people clean and minimise the spread of infection.

People told us there were enough staff to meet their needs which was confirmed in the rotas and records we reviewed.

There were robust recruitment checks in place, which ensured only staff that had been assessed as suitable to work with vulnerable people were employed. Staff were supported by regular spot checks, supervisions and annual appraisal. They attended training in various subjects in order to perform their roles effectively.

People were supported to maintain a balanced diet that met their individual preferences. They were supported to access healthcare services in order to enable them to maintain their health.

Most care plans were person centred and were reviewed regularly together with people and their relatives. We made a recommendation to ensure all aspects of care plans were person centred as aspects such as food preferences and daily routines were not always included.

There was an effective complaints process, which was understood by people and staff. People told us they were able to raise concerns and that the management followed up any concerns with the aim to resolve them satisfactorily.

People and their relatives and staff thought the service was managed well and that there was always someone available over the phone whenever they needed assistance.

The quality of care delivered was monitored through audits spot checks and surveys and action was taken to ensure people’s views were listened to.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service was well-led. Since our last inspection we were receiving notifications as required by law. There were effective quality assurance systems in place to ensure the quality of care delivered was monitored and improved.

People, their relatives and staff thought the service was well-led and that their complaints were listed to with the exception on two that were still being considered.

There was an open and transparent culture where people and staff felt free to raise any concerns.