You are here

Anglian Care Limited - Rankin House Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

Anglian Care Limited provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats and specialist housing. This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides a service to older people.

The inspection was carried out between the 28 March 2018 and 8 June 2018. At the time of the inspection there were 45 people who used the service.

At our last inspection to the service in November and December 2015 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Our key findings across all the areas we inspected were as follows:

• Excellent arrangements were in place to assess and monitor the quality of the service provided. There was a positive culture within the service that was person-centred, open and inclusive. People received an outstanding quality service that was flexible and responsive to their needs. People’s and others views about the quality of the service provided was sought and acted upon.

• Suitable arrangements were in place to keep people safe. Policies and procedures were followed by staff to safeguard people and staff understood these measures. Risks to people were identified and managed to prevent people from receiving unsafe care and support. The service was appropriately staffed to meet the needs of the people using the service. People received their medication as prescribed and in a safe way. Recruitment procedures were followed to ensure the right staff were employed. People were protected by the provider’s arrangements for the prevention and control of infection. Arrangements were in place for learning and making improvements when things go wrong.

• Staff had a thorough induction to carry out their role and responsibilities effectively. Staff had the right competencies and skills to meet people’s needs and received regular training opportunities. Suitable arrangements were in place for staff to receive regular formal supervision. People’s nutritional and hydration needs were met and they were provided with drinks and snacks throughout the day. People received appropriate healthcare support as and when needed from a variety of professional services. The service worked together with other organisations to ensure people received coordinated care and support. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

• People were treated with care, kindness, dignity and respect. People received a good level of care and support that met their needs and preferences. Staff had a good knowledge and understanding of people’s specific care and support needs and how they wished to be cared for and supported.

• Support plans were in place to reflect how people would like to receive their care and support, and covered all aspects of a person's individual circumstances. Information about how to make a complaint was available and people’s representatives told us they were confident to raise issues or concerns. No-one was currently receiving end of life care.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Outstanding

Updated 2 August 2018

The service remains Outstanding