You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 September 2018

The inspection took place on 26 July 2018. We gave 48 hours’ notice of our intention to visit Murrills House to make sure people we needed to speak to were available.

Murrills House provides care and support to people living in a 'supported living' setting, so that they can live in their own home as independently as possible. People's care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for supported living; this inspection looked at people's personal care and support. Support is provided to people who are living with a learning disability and may have other physical and mental health needs. At the time of our inspection there were three people receiving personal care and support.

The service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

A company called Mylife had bought Supported Living UK in December 2017, however there were no changes to the provider’s registration with the Care Quality Commission because the company was still the same.

A registered manager was not in place at the time of our inspection. The provider had employed a manager who was in the process of applying to the Care Quality Commission to become the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

For the purpose of this report, we will refer to the person who had applied to the CQC to become the registered manager as the manager.

At the last inspection, the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

People and staff told us they received a safe service. All staff had undertaken training in safeguarding adults, they displayed good knowledge on how to report any concerns and could describe what action they would take to protect people from harm.

There were enough skilled staff to meet people’s needs and staff focused on providing people with person-centered support that was provided in a caring and professional manner.

Risks associated with people’s care were well known by staff, clearly documented in people’s care plans and well managed.

Medicines were managed safely and were administered by trained staff.

The manager and staff understood their responsibilities to comply with the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005. People were encouraged to make choices about their day to day care and plans for the future.

People received care and support that was delivered in a way that met their needs and preferences. Staff treated people with dignity and respect and people were supported to be as independent as possible.

People were aware of how to raise a complaint and we saw that complaints had been investigated and resolved.

Staff felt supported by the management team. There were systems in place that monitored the quality and the safety of the service provided. Records were thorough, comprehensive and regularly reviewed.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 September 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 September 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 September 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 September 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 September 2018

The service remains Good.