You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 June 2018

This comprehensive inspection took place on 25 and 30 April 2018 and was announced. The provider provided care and support to people living in two ‘supported living’ locations in North Devon. These were Manor Lodge in Bideford and Lower Fisherton in Umberleigh. The service supported five younger people living with a complex learning disability or an autistic spectrum disorder.

People’s care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) does not regulate premises used for supported living; this inspection looked at people’s personal care and support.

Manor Lodge was a ‘single house in multi-occupation’ where four younger adults lived together. Houses in multiple occupation are properties where at least three people in more than one household share toilet, bathroom and kitchen facilities. Each person had their own bedroom on the upper floor and shared a living room, dining room, conservatory and kitchen on the ground floor. There was also a small office and staff sleep in facilities. The service was situated in a quiet residential area and had large outdoor space.

Lower Fisherton was a large house currently occupied by one younger adult only. They had full use of the house and staff had office and sleep in facilities. The service was situated in a very rural area with no close neighbours and had outdoor space.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

At our last comprehensive inspection in April 2016 we rated the service Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the overall rating of Good. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and on going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Why the service is rated Good:

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The provider and support workers delivered care and support which took into account people's individual choices and preferences. People were seen to be very happy and content at the service and positive interactions took place with staff. Staff treated people with respect, dignity and respect at all times. Meaningful relationships had been developed with the support workers who looked after them. Families and friends were involved in people’s on going care, support and wellbeing.

People were encouraged to be as independent as possible and develop individual activities, hobbies and interests. They felt safe and trusted the staff who supported them. Two people said, “All the staff are really kind to me … they really respect me here … I like everybody” and “I am very happy here … I’m a lot happier than my last place …I get to go all over.” People were encouraged to establish community links and take part in things that mattered to them.

People were kept safe and supported by care workers who were aware of their safeguarding responsibilities. There had been one recent safeguarding concern which had been investigated and resolved by the local authority safeguarding team. Support workers were safely recruited, trained and supervised in their work. They enjoyed their jobs, felt very passionate about their roles and were complimentary of the staff team. Comments included, “They (people) actually do what they want to

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 June 2018

The service remained Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 21 June 2018

The service remained Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 21 June 2018

The Service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 June 2018

The service remained Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 June 2018

The service remained Good.