You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

This announced inspection took place on the 5 July 2018. It was announced 48 business hours in advance in accordance with the Care Quality Commission’s current procedures for inspecting domiciliary care services. Our last inspection of the service was carried out on 16 October 2015 2015. At that inspection we rated the service as good. At this inspection we found the service remained good.

Penwith Respite Care (PRC) is a Domiciliary Care Agency that provides care and support to adults, in their own homes. The service provides help and support with people’s personal care needs in the Penzance and surrounding areas. The packages of care that PRC provide range from 30 minutes a day to 24 hour care dependant on the person’s care needs.

PRC alongside the domiciliary care service, run a café in the local community and provided outreach support. Therefore, not everyone using PRC receives regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also take into account any wider social care provided.

The provider had developed strong links with the local community. They worked alongside other organisations to ensure they followed current good practice in the delivery of people's care. The management team had a role in promoting the importance and value of social care locally. Strong links with the community had been formed via the café. People told us that they were supported by staff to meet with friends in the local café, which reduced social isolation. Some people worked at the café with support from staff which enabled employment opportunities.

At the time of our inspection 33 people were receiving a personal care service. Support is provided to people with a physical or learning disability from the age of 18 tears to older persons. These services were funded either privately or through Cornwall Council or NHS funding. There were 29 staff employed some of those were office based to coordinate and manage the service.

People were extremely satisfied with the quality of the service they received and the caring approach from staff. People told us; "They are friendly, reliable, always on time and thoroughly conscientious.” Relatives were also complimentary, commenting “I had trouble finding the right care for my [relative] and at last she’s got it. They are amazing, they are adaptable, local, understand [relatives] needs that no one else has and if there is a emergency they help out.” Another relative said “The staff know [person’s name] so well, I know that staff look after her well and I don’t need to worry anymore, I can relax and know she is being cared for by caring and competent staff.”

People told us they had not experienced a missed care visit. The service had robust and effective procedures in place to ensure that all planned care visits were provided. The service's visit schedules were well organised and there were a sufficient number of staff available to provide people's care visits in accordance with their preferences.

People told us that their visits were on time but there were 'rare occasions' when care staff could be late for their planned visits. However, people, and relatives, did not have a concern regarding this as they understood that any lateness was due to care staff needing to provide extra support to a person in an emergency or due to travel issues, especially in holiday seasons. People told us that PRC office staff would phone them if a care worker was going to be late which gave them reassurance that their visit would continue. PRC operated an on-call system outside of office hours. Care staff told us managers would respond promptly to any queries they might have.

People received care and support from a consistent team of staff with whom they were familiar. Staff arrived on time and stayed for the full time allocated. People spoke positively about the staff that supported them and

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

The service remains caring.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

the service remains effective

Caring

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

The service remains Responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 August 2018

The service remains Well-led.