You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Avery Lodge. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 3 June 2017

Avery Lodge is registered to provide accommodation and personal care for 67 people. It can accommodate older people, people who live with dementia and people who have a physical disability. The accommodation is provided on three floors. The ground floor is called Balmoral Suite where five older people can live. The first floor is called Kensington Suite where 31 people can live. The second floor is called Sandringham Suite where 31 people who live with dementia can be accommodated. At the time of our inspection visit there were 64 people living in the service. Nearly all of them were older people most of whom lived with dementia.

The service was run by a company that was the registered provider. There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the service is run. In this report when we speak about both the company and the registered manager we refer to them as being, ‘the registered persons’.

At the last inspection on 19 January 2015 the service was rated Good.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

This inspection was unannounced and was carried out on 3 May 2017.

Care staff knew how to keep people safe from the risk of abuse. Although people had been helped to avoid preventable accidents some parts of Sandringham Suite had not been well cleaned and did not have a fresh atmosphere. Medicines were safely managed and there were enough staff on duty. Background checks had been completed before new care staff had been appointed.

Care staff knew how to support people in the right way. People enjoyed their meals and had been helped to eat and drink enough. They had also been supported to obtain all of the healthcare assistance they needed.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and care staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. Policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were treated with compassion and respect. Care staff recognised people’s right to privacy and promoted their dignity. Confidential information was kept private.

People had been given all of the care they needed and they had been supported in innovative ways to pursue their hobbies and interests. There was a system for quickly and fairly resolving complaints.

People had been consulted about the development of their home. Quality checks had been completed to ensure that people received safe care. Care staff were supported to speak out if they had any concerns and good team work was promoted. People had benefited from care staff acting upon good practice guidance.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 3 June 2017

The service was rated as �requires improvement� at the last inspection. This was because sufficient steps had not been taken to maintain good standards of hygiene. This had increased the risk of people acquiring infections. At this inspection we found that although further progress was needed most of the necessary improvements had been made to promote good standards of hygiene.

The service was Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 3 June 2017

The service remained Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 3 June 2017

The service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 3 June 2017

The service remained Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 3 June 2017

The service remained Good.