You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 30 March 2018

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection on 20 and 21 and 22 February 2018.

Hillside Lodge is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Hillside Lodge provides care and accommodation for up to 60 people separated into three separate units. Each unit provides care for 20 people, one providing nursing care, one residential care and one care for people living with dementia.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. At the last inspection on the 25 November 2015 the service was rated Good overall. However it was Requires Improvements in Well-Led. At this inspection we found the service remained Good overall.

Why the service is rated good:

People told us they felt safe. Comments included; “I feel 100% safe here” and “Yes, I do feel safe here” also “Of course, I feel so safe.” A relative said; “Very safe- I have no concerns.”

The service was now well-led. At our inspection in November 2015 we recorded that the service was not consistently well led. The report for November 2015 highlighted that the records of people’s care were not all completed in full. For example, people who had records in place to record their food and fluid intake, and risks associated with their skin were not all completed consistency. It stated that; “The incomplete records detailed above are a beach of Regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2014.” At this inspection we found that the provider had followed their action plan and that steps had been taken to ensure the breach was met.

People lived in a service where the registered manager’s values and vision were embedded into the service, staff and culture. People, relatives and staff all agreed that the registered manager was approachable and had an “open door policy.” The registered manager and provider had monitoring systems which enabled them to identify good practices and areas of improvement.

The Provider Information Return (PIR) stated; “Manager and deputy complete monthly audits and the quality team visit twice yearly (unannounced) and complete a quality of life audit action plans which are a result of these audits.”

People remained safe at the service. People were protected by safe recruitment procedures to help ensure staff were suitable to work with vulnerable people. People, relatives and staff mostly said there were sufficient staff to keep people safe. However a few people and some staff commented that staffing levels were not always good. Comments from people included; “They are rushed off their feet’ and another said; “I would like staff to have more time to sit and talk to me.” While others said; “Staff numbers are fine” and “When I use my call bell the response is quick.” Another said; “When I call for help, it comes quickly generally.” Other staff said they were able to meet people’s needs and support them when needed. The registered manager said they monitored the staffing levels based on the needs of people currently living in the service.

People’s risks were assessed, monitored and managed by staff to help ensure they remained safe. Risk assessments were completed to enable people to retain as much independence as possible. People who required additional support to protect their skin integrity had input from either the qualified staff on duty or the district nurse team. Professionals said they believed people were safe and well cared for and had no concerns. People received their medicines safely by suitably trained staff.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 30 March 2018

This service remains good

Effective

Good

Updated 30 March 2018

This service remains good

Caring

Good

Updated 30 March 2018

This service remains good

Responsive

Good

Updated 30 March 2018

This service remains good

Well-led

Good

Updated 30 March 2018

The service was now well led.

People lived in a service whereby the providers� caring values were embedded into the leadership, culture and staff practice. There were systems in place to monitor the safety and quality of the service.

Staff spoke highly of the registered manager and management team of the service and company.

The registered manager kept their ongoing practice and learning up to date to help develop the team and drive improvement.

People benefited from a registered manager who worked with external health and social care professionals in an open and transparent way.

Relatives and professionals views on the service were sought and quality assurance systems ensured improvements were identified and addressed.