You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 31 October 2018

A comprehensive inspection took place on 16 and 17 July 2018 and was unannounced.

The Victoria Grand is registered to provide care and accommodation for up to 26 older adults in one adapted building. People at the home are living with dementia and physical needs. At the time of our visit there were 18 people living at the Victoria Grand.

Victoria Grand is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The service was last inspected in September 2016. At our last inspection we rated the service as overall good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Since our last inspection, we have continued to engage with the provider. At the last inspection the provider was unable to demonstrate that care and treatment had been provided with the consent of the relevant person in line with the Mental Capacity Act 2005. We required the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key question, is the service effective, to at least good. At this inspection, the registered manager was able to demonstrate that care and treatment had been provided with the consent of the person. We confirmed the provider had taken sufficient action to address the previous breach of Regulation.

We found although care and treatment was being provided with the persons consent, how decisions were being made were not always documented. We found guidance on as and when needed medicines and risk assessments lacked detail. Improvements were needed to the recording and documenting of information, but we did not see this having an impact for people.

Risks to people were identified, assessed and measures were taken to manage those risks. People told us there were enough staff to meet their needs. Staff were able to demonstrate how they keep people safe from abuse and safe in an emergency. Staff were well trained and received regular supervisions.

People's medicines were managed safely and administered by staff who had received specific medicine training. The home followed safe staff recruitment practices and provided a thorough induction process to prepare new staff for their role.

Staff were observed to be caring and to have kind supportive relationships between staff and people. Staff promoted people’s dignity, respected their privacy and promoted their independence.

People were given opportunities to be involved and supported to express their views on how they wished to be cared for. Staff and relatives told us they are involved in decisions made, relatives told us they are involved in decisions affecting their relative and health professionals were involved. People and their relatives knew how to raise a concern and felt able to do so.

People received personalised care by staff that knew them well. People were offered a choice of activities. The culture of the home was caring, positive and friendly. Staff and people spoke positively about the registered manager.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 31 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 31 October 2018

The service has improved to Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 31 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 31 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 31 October 2018

At this inspection we found the service had deteriorated to Requires Improvement.

Records were not always fully completed regarding choices, medication protocols and risk assessments.

The home was caring, positive and friendly. The values of the service were embedded in the care and treatment provided.

People and staff knew who the registered manager was and felt confident in approaching them.

The registered manager and staff had an overview of the quality of care provided.