You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 29 November 2018

Acorn Lodge - Surbiton is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The service supports up to 10 people with learning disabilities, who also need support to maintain their mental health, in a large detached house in Surbiton.

This unannounced inspection took place on 24 October 2018. There were seven people living at Acorn Lodge – Surbiton when we visited. The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection in March 2016, we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People’s needs were assessed by the staff of the service and care and support was delivered to meet their assessed needs. Risks relating to people’s support were assessed and mitigated by staff, and the service had a flexible staffing rota to ensure there were enough staff to meet people’s needs.

People received their medicines as prescribed, by staff who were trained and assessed as competent to administer medicines. Staff were well-supported in their roles through training, appraisal and supervision.

The service had a strong, caring, person-centred culture in which people were empowered to lead fulfilling lives. The registered manager and senior management team had robust systems in place to ensure the service continually improved.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 29 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 29 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 29 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 29 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 29 November 2018

The service remains Good.