You are here

Oasis Care and Training Agency (OCTA) Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

Oasis Care and Training Agency is a domiciliary care service, which provides personal care to people in their own homes in 14 London boroughs. At the time of the inspection there were about 216 people using the service.

The service was inspected on 31 August and 2 September 2016, where we found the service was in breach of two regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) 2010. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Oasis Care and Training Agency OCTA’ on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

We undertook a focused inspection on 7 February 2017 in relation to the breaches of regulation we identified at our previous inspection of September 2016. We found that the service had followed their action plan and had made the required improvements. We could not however change the rating for the key questions ‘Is the service safe?’ and ‘Is the service well-led?’ because to do so required a record of consistent good practice.

We undertook an announced comprehensive inspection on 4 July 2017. We gave the registered manager 24 hours’ notice as we needed to be sure they would be available for the inspection. At this inspection we found that the service had sustained the improvements put in place following our previous inspections of September 2016 and February 2017 and met the legal requirements.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Staff handled and administered medicine to people in a safe way. Staff had been trained in the safe administration of medicines and they understood and followed the organisation’s medicines policy. Risk assessments were carried out and management plans were in place to keep people safe from avoidable harm. Recruitment procedures were safe to ensure only suitable personnel worked with vulnerable people. Staff understood how to recognise signs of abuse and how to protect people from the risk of abuse.

Staff understood their responsibilities within the Mental Capacity Act 2005. Staff were supported through induction, supervision, appraisal and training to provide an effective service to people. People were supported to eat and drink appropriately and to meet their dietary and nutritional requirements. People were supported to arrange appointments to ensure their health needs were met. Relevant professionals were involved to ensure people received appropriate support and care that met their needs.

People told us staff treated them with kindness and respected their dignity. Staff understood people’s needs, preferences and cared for as they wanted. People and their relatives were involved in their care planning and these were reviewed and updated regularly to reflect people’s changing needs. Staff encouraged and enabled people to do what they can do for themselves to keep them active and maintain their independence.

People and their relatives were given opportunities to share their views about the service. People knew how to complain. The registered manager investigated and responded to complaints and concerns appropriately.

Regular spot checks and audits were carried out to identify shortfalls in the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The service was safe. Risks to people were assessed and managed appropriately.

Medicines were handled and managed in line with the organisation’s procedure and safe practices. Medicines administered to people were recorded clearly.

Recruitment practices were safe to ensure only suitable staff were employed to provide care to people.

Staff were knowledgeable in recognising the signs of abuse and how to report it in accordance with the organisations policy and procedure.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The service was effective. Staff were supported through induction, supervision, appraisal and training.

Staff understood the principles of the Mental Capacity Act (2005) and ensured people consented to the care provided to them.

People were supported to prepare food and drink as required.

The service worked with health and social care professionals to ensure people’s needs were met.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The service was caring. Staff treated people with dignity and respect.

Staff understood the needs of people and how to support them accordingly.

People were involved in their own care. People had choice about how they wanted their care delivered.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The service was responsive. Care and support was delivered to people in the way and manner they wanted.

Care plans detailed the support people required to meet their needs. People were supported to maintain their independence.

People and their relatives knew how to raise concerns and complaints and these were investigated and responded to in line with policy.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The service was well led. There was a registered manager who complied with the terms of the registration with CQC.

People and staff told us the registered manager and members of the management team listened and were open to feedback which were used to improve the service.

There were systems for monitoring the quality of service provided.