You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 15 January 2018

We rated Aspen as good because:

  • The hospital was clean, well maintained and had good furnishings. Patients had access to good facilities and took part in meetings and activities including at weekends. Staff updated risk assessments frequently and patients told us they felt safe in the hospital.

  • There were enough suitably qualified staff so the provider did not have to use agency staff. Patients reported the staff were caring, approachable and skilled. Staff were well trained and they had access to supervision, appraisal and team meetings.

  • Patient care plans were holistic and contained personalised recovery goals. Staff used a range of tools to assess and monitor patient outcomes. They involved patients in their treatment and empowered them to make decisions about their care. Staff involved patients’ carers where appropriate.

  • Staff encouraged patients to become involved in activities aimed at maintaining their independence and preparation for discharge. Patients could choose activities on the timetable and had a say in some of the hospital’s routines.

  • The hospital had few complaints and patients and their carers knew how to access advocacy support. Staff regularly carried out patient and carer surveys and responded to feedback.

  • There was an open culture where patients and staff could report concerns and share lessons learned from incidents. Staff surveys showed high levels of job satisfaction and staff were motivated to deliver high quality patient care.

However:

  • Staff did not always take proper steps to control the spread of infection when administering medication.
  • Staff did not always ensure the safe management of medicines. They did not record the current temperature of the medications fridge and did not always store controlled drugs correctly prior to disposal.
  • Staff did not store emergency drugs together with other emergency equipment.
  • Staff did not always administer patients’ medication in a way that ensured their privacy and did not always encourage patients to carry out medical self-testing in a private area.  
Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 15 January 2018

We rated safe as requires improvement because,

  • Staff did not always take proper steps to control the spread of infection when administering medication.

  • Staff did not record the current medications fridge temperature and did not always ensure the medications fridge was in good working order.

  • Staff did not always record the date when they opened medication and did not always store it correctly prior to disposal.

  • Staff did not store emergency drugs together with other emergency equipment.

However,

  • The hospital was clean, had good furnishings and equipment that was well maintained. Part of the hospital was undergoing refurbishment to provide better medical treatment facilities.

  • There were enough suitably qualified staff on duty and managers could adjust staffing levels to meet the needs of patients. The hospital only used bank staff so patients were familiar with the people caring for them.

  • Staff were up-to-date with their mandatory training. They knew how to safeguard patients and reported concerns to the relevant authorities.

  • Staff updated patient risk assessments daily and the hospital had robust assessment procedures to ensure only patients who could be safely managed were admitted. Patients and staff told us they felt safe in the hospital.

  • Blanket restrictions were used only when staff could justify them and restraint was used only after verbal de-escalation had not proved effective.

Effective

Good

Updated 15 January 2018

We rated effective as good because,

  • All the records we looked at demonstrated that staff carried out a timely and comprehensive assessment on each patient, which included a self-assessment using mental and physical symptoms relevant to the individual patient.

  • Each patient had a health improvement profile, which staff monitored and used as the basis for treatment decisions. Staff ran an in-house well women clinic and ensured patients engaged with local primary care services.

  • Patients had a holistic care plan with personal recovery orientated goals. Staff updated patients care plans with patients frequently.

  • Staff carried out occupational functioning assessments and each patient had a personalised activity plan and behaviour support plan in place.

  • Staff used a range of recognised tools to assess and monitor patient outcomes. Each patient had a personal portfolio, which staff had developed with them to support their discharge and recovery.

  • Patients were cared for by a multidisciplinary team who were skilled and experienced in working with people with a personality disorder. Staff compliance with role specific training was high and managers provided them with regular supervision and appraisal. Staff had access to multidisciplinary meetings including team meetings and reflective supervision.

Caring

Good

Updated 15 January 2018

We rated caring as good because,

  • There was a strong person centred culture where staff took into account patient’s individual needs and preferences.

  • Patients thought staff were caring, respectful and approachable. Staff respected patient confidentiality but worked to involve families in treatment.

  • Staff demonstrated a collaborative approach and empowered patients to make decisions about their care and about their surroundings. Patients told us they felt involved in their treatment and had a say in the hospital’s routines.

  • Staff encouraged patients to maintain their independence through completing their own portfolio of work. Some patients were actively involved in the local community, for example by attending college.

  • Staff carried out regular surveys with patients and carers including whether patients were satisfied with local primary care services.

Responsive

Good

Updated 15 January 2018

We rated responsive as good because:

  • Patients had access to a range of facilities including an enclosed garden, a modulation room, an art therapy area, a computer room, a well-equipped kitchen and a small on-site gym. The hospital was undergoing some refurbishment to create a new treatment room with a treatment couch.

  • The hospital had a full activity timetable including some activities at weekends. Patients could choose which activities they wanted through a daily planning meeting.

  • Patient and their carers had access to information about their rights and they knew how to complain. The hospital had few formal complaints and patients told us they could resolve issues quickly and informally. We saw evidence of changes made following a formal patient complaint.

However,

  • We observed that staff sometimes dispensed medication to patients so that it could be seen by other patients.

  • Staff did not always encourage patients to carry out medical self-testing in a private area.

Well-led

Good

Updated 15 January 2018

We rated well-led as good because:

  • The hospital had strong positive values and we could see these in the way staff behaved and in their attitude to caring for patients

  • The hospital had systems in place to effectively recruit, train, and support staff effectively so they spent a lot of their time involved in directly caring for patients.

  • There was an open culture where staff and patients could raise concerns where necessary. Staff reported incidents and shared lessons when things went wrong.

  • Staff surveys showed high levels of job satisfaction. Staff were happy and motivated to deliver high quality patient care.
Checks on specific services

Personality disorder services

Good

Updated 1 September 2015

This report describes our judgement of the quality of care provided within this core service by The Aspens Hospital. Where relevant we provide detail of each location or area of service visited.

Our judgement is based on a combination of what we found when we inspected, information from our ‘Intelligent Monitoring’ system, and information given to us from people who use services, the public and other organisations.

Where applicable, we have reported on each core service provided by The Aspens Hospital and these are brought together to inform our overall judgement of The Aspens Hospital.

Long stay or rehabilitation mental health wards for working age adults

Good

Updated 15 January 2018