You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 April 2018

This inspection took place on 5 March 2018 and was unannounced. At the last inspection on 5 October 2015 the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Devonshire Road is a residential care home for five people with learning disabilities and mental health needs. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. At the time of this inspection there were five people living at the service.

At our last inspection we rated the service ‘Good’. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of ‘Good’ and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

We observed people to be happy and very settled living at Devonshire Road. Some people had been living at the home in excess of 20 years.

Care plans contained clear and specific risk assessments with guidelines for staff on how to support people so as to reduce or mitigate each identified risk in order to keep people safe from harm.

People and relatives told us that they felt safe living at Devonshire Road and with the support that they received from the care staff.

The service followed robust recruitment processes to ensure that only care staff that were assessed as suitable and safe to work with vulnerable adults.

We observed appropriate staffing levels available to support people. Staff levels were flexible dependent on people’s level of need.

Medicines were administered and managed safely and people received medicines as prescribed.

People’s needs were assessed prior to admission and regularly reviewed so that people received the appropriate care and support that took account of their needs and requirements.

Care staff received appropriate training and support in order to effectively deliver appropriate care and support.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The provider had policies and systems in place to support this practice.

People were supported with their nutrition and hydration needs which took account of their choices, preferences and wishes. Where specialist dietary requirements had been recorded, people received the appropriate and specific support as outlined in provided guidance.

People were supported to access a variety of health care service where required to enable them to live a healthier lifestyle.

People were supported to be as independent as possible. People had established caring and meaningful relationships with other people living at the home and with the care staff that supported them.

Appropriate processes were in place to deal with any complaints that were received. People and relatives confirmed they knew who to speak if they were not happy with any aspect of their care and support.

Care plans were detailed, person centred and responsive to people’s care and support needs, choices and wishes.

The provider had processes in place to ensure that the quality of care was regularly monitored and checked so that subsequent learning could take place and improvements made to the delivery of service.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 April 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 April 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 April 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 April 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 April 2018

The service remains Good.