You are here

Archived: Oakhurst Lodge Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 1 September 2015

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 15 and 17 October 2014 at which two breaches of legal requirements were found. After the comprehensive inspection, the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the breachs.

We undertook this focused inspection to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Oakhurst Lodge’ on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

Oakhurst Lodge provides accommodation and care for up to eight younger people with autistic spectrum disorder, associated learning disabilities and who might display behaviours which challenge.

The home has a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At this focused inspection we found the premises were of suitable design and layout to meet the needs of people using the service and keep them safe. The home was clean, tidy and well maintained.

Training plans had been updated and staff had completed training relevant to their role. For example, all staff had completed training in first aid, nutrition, and safeguarding adults at risk. A programme for specialist training in autism was in progress.

At our focused inspection on the 5 August 2015, we found that the provider had followed their plan which they had told us would be completed by June 2015 and legal requirements had been met.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 4 February 2015

Improvements were needed before we could judge the service to be safe.

People were supported by sufficient numbers of suitably qualified, skilled and experienced staff. However some staff felt that there was a risk they might not always be able to provide an appropriate response to incidents of challenging behaviour to ensure that people were protected from harm.

Medication was administered safely by staff who had been trained to do so. There were procedures in place to ensure the safe handling and storage of medicines.

Staff knew how to recognise and respond to abuse. They had a clear understanding of the procedures in place to protect people from harm.

Risks to individuals had been identified as part of the support and care planning process and plans were in place to manage these.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 1 September 2015

The service was effective. We found that action had been taken to improve the ongoing maintenance of the service.

Staff received appropriate training and professional development.

We could not improve the rating for effective from requires improvement because to do so requires consistent good practice over time. We will check this during our next planned Comprehensive inspection.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 February 2015

The service was caring.

People were happy with the care and support they received. It was clear from our observations that people were treated with dignity and respect and they were involved in making decisions about their care.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 4 February 2015

Improvements were needed before we could judge the service to be responsive.

Care plans contained appropriate information about people’s needs, their choices and preferences, this ensured that staff had the guidance they needed to be able to deliver responsive care and give people the right support.

People told us they enjoyed the activities, but would like the opportunity to do more.

Complaints were responded to appropriately and people were given information on how to make a complaint. An advocate visited the service regularly who was able to support the young people to raise concerns or a complaint and act on their behalf when discussing this with the home.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 4 February 2015

Improvements were needed before we could judge the service to be well led.

Oakhurst Lodge had not had a registered manager since November 2013, although an application from a manager, appointed in March 2014 to become registered had been submitted.

Accidents and incidents were not always being monitored by the manager to ensure that any trends were identified. The programme of checking the quality of the care was not being fully effective in driving improvements to ensure quality and safety in the home.

People, relatives, staff and healthcare professionals said the service was well led. There was an open culture at the home and staff told us that they were able to raise concerns or make comments and that action would be taken to address these.