You are here

Healthshare Diagnostics Limited - The Global Clinic Norwich Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 March 2019

Global Diagnostics Limited - The Global Clinic Norwich is operated by Global Diagnostics Limited. The service is located in the grounds of Colney Hall on the outskirts of Norwich. The service has four ultrasound scanning rooms, an x-ray room, three consulting rooms, a reception and waiting area. The service also provides magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) from a mobile van which remains permanently parked within the Colney Hall grounds.

The Global Clinic Norwich also provides services provided from eight satellite clinics held at five General Practitioner (GP) practices and three category B and C prisons.

The service provides diagnostic imaging to NHS and private patients aged 16 years and above.

We inspected this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out the announced part of the inspection on 30 January 2019.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

The only service provided at this location was diagnostic imaging.

Services we rate

This was the first time we have rated this service. We rated it as Good overall.

  • The Staff understood how to protect patients from avoidable harm, and the service worked well with other agencies to do so.

  • The service had enough staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to provide the right care and treatment.

  • Information leaflets were provided in the service for patients on what the scan would entail and what was expected of them prior to their scan.

  • Staff cared for patients with compassion. Staff provided emotional support to patients to minimise their distress. Staff involved patients and those close to them in decisions about their care and treatment.

  • The service planned and provided services to meet the needs of local people whilst taking into account the patient’s individual needs.

  • Patients could access the service in a timely manner.

  • The service treated concerns and complaints seriously and sought patient feedback through a variety of methods.

  • Written feedback from patients was consistently positive.

  • The service had a clear mission statement in place with workable plans to turn it into action.

  • Managers across the service promoted a positive culture that supported and valued staff.

However, we also found the following issues that the service provider needs to improve:

  • Equipment such as a wheelchair and trolley in MRI unit were not labelled as ‘magnetic resonance (MR) conditional’ or ‘MR safe’, to indicate that these pieces of equipment were safe to use in an MR environment as per the Medicines & Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) safety guidelines for magnetic resonance imaging equipment.

Amanda Stanford

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 March 2019

This was the first time we have rated this service. We rated it as Good because:

  • Staff received mandatory training in safety systems, processes and practices.

  • Staff kept patients safe from harm and abuse. Patient were risk assessed, monitored and managed appropriately.

  • Staff followed best practice in relation to infection prevention and control.

  • Staff kept detailed records of patients’ care and treatment. Records were clear, up-to-date and easily available to all staff providing care.

  • Staff recognised incidents and knew how to report them. Managers investigated incidents and made improvements to the service.

However:

Equipment such as a wheelchair and trolley used for transferring patients from the magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner in an emergency were not labelled as ‘MR conditional’ or ‘MR safe’, to indicate that these equipment were safe to use as per the MHRA safety guidelines for magnetic resonance imaging equipment.

Effective

Updated 26 March 2019

We do not currently rate diagnostic imaging services for effective, however, we found:

  • The service provided care and treatment based on national guidance and evidence of its effectiveness.

  • The service checked to make sure staff followed guidance through the process of local audit.

  • Managers monitored the effectiveness of care and treatment and used the findings to improve the service.

  • Staff understood how and when to assess whether a patient had the mental capacity to make decisions about their care.

Caring

Good

Updated 26 March 2019

This was the first time we have rated this service. We rated it as Good because:

  • Staff cared for patients’ with compassion. Feedback from patients confirmed that staff treated them well and with kindness.

  • Staff provided emotional support to patients to minimise their distress.

  • Staff involved patients and those close to them in decisions about their care and treatment.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 March 2019

This was the first time we have rated this service. We rated it as Good because:

  • The service planned and provided services in a way that met the needs of local people.

  • The service took account of patients’ individual needs.

  • Patients could access the service when they needed it.

  • The service treated concerns and complaints seriously, investigated them, learned lessons from the results and shared these with all staff.

  • The service was open seven days a week and provided appointments that were convenient for patients.

Well-led

Good

Updated 26 March 2019

This was the first time we have rated this service. We rated it as Good because:

  • Service leaders had the capacity and capability to deliver high-quality, sustainable care.

  • The service had a clear vision and strategy that all staff understood and put into practice.

  • Staff described the culture within the service as open and transparent. Staff could raise concerns and felt listened to. They said leaders were visible and approachable.

  • The service had governance, risk management and quality measures to improve patient care, safety and outcomes.

  • The service had effective systems in place to capture patient feedback.

Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 26 March 2019

Global Diagnostics Limited - The Global Clinic Norwich is operated by Global Diagnostics Limited. The

service provides diagnostic imaging services

the local communities Norfolk and Waveney. The services are commissioned by five clinical commissioning groups (CCGs), the local NHS acute trust and community trust.

The service is registered to provide diagnostic imaging

services to patients aged 16 years and above.

We rated this core service as good overall because care and treatment provided was based on best practice and delivered by competent staff.

The service controlled infection risk well and had an

updated infection prevention and control policy.

Patients could access care and treatment in a timely

way and in locations to meet their needs.

Patient feedback about the service was positive.

Managers across the service promoted a positive

culture that supported and valued staff, creating a

sense of common purpose based on shared values.

Governance processes were in place to provide

adequate assurances of service provision and drove forward service improvements