You are here

Potensial Limited - 2 Belgrave Terrace Good

We are carrying out a review of quality at Potensial Limited - 2 Belgrave Terrace. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 June 2017

This inspection took place on 9 May 2017 and was unannounced. This meant the provider did not know we would be visiting. The registered manager was not available on day one of the inspection so we completed a second day of inspection on 16 May 2017 when they were available. This day was announced. We last inspected the service on 24 March 2015 and found the provider was rated ‘Good.’ They were meeting all the fundamental standards we inspected against.

Potensial Limited – 2 Belgrave Terrace is based in South Shields in a Victorian terraced house close to the town centre and local amenities. The service can accommodate up to eight people with learning disabilities. At the time of the inspection seven people lived at the home.

There was an established registered manager in post at the time of the inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The administration of routine medicines was managed safely. It was identified that detailed protocols were needed for ‘as and when required’ medicines.

People’s support hours had been individually commissioned and staff rotas reflected this. The staff team was well-established and there had been no recruitment since the last inspection. A procedure for safe recruitment was in place.

Risk assessments were in place which mitigated risk, and staff understood how to safeguard people from abuse. Care plans were person centred, and detailed. We found one care plan for one person which lacked detail but staff had the necessary knowledge to ensure the person was safe.

Staff training was up to date, and they had completed training in relation to the specific needs of the people they support, including autism, diabetes and behaviours that challenge.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

Health action plans were in place and there was evidence that people were supported to access relevant healthcare professionals.

People were involved in meal planning and were encouraged and supported to choose a healthy, well balanced diet.

We observed warm and caring relationships between people and staff. There was a welcoming atmosphere, and lots of laughter and fun was shared between people and staff. Staff were respectful when speaking with people and engaged them in day to day activity.

Some people attended day services for some of their week, whilst another person had a voluntary job. Other people were actively choosing how they spent their time.

Complaints were recorded and investigated.

A range of quality audits were completed by the registered manager who had assessed areas such as support plans, risk assessments and behaviour management plans as being excellent. The regional director completed a monthly quality audit which the registered manager used to produce a service action plan. There was also a ‘North East Quality Action Plan.’ This was an organisational plan aimed at improving quality and consistency across all services in the North East.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 June 2017

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 21 June 2017

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 21 June 2017

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 June 2017

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 June 2017

The service remains good.