You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 16 October 2018

This announced inspection took place on 18 September 2018. We announced the inspection to ensure people who used the service would be in during the day, as well as the registered manager to facilitate the inspection.

Park View is a care home located in Salford and accommodates up to nine adults who have mental health and acquired brain injury related conditions. At the time of the inspection there were nine people using the service. The service is located in the Seedley area of Salford and is close to local amenities and transport routes for Greater Manchester.

We last inspected Park View in January 2016, where the home was rated Good overall and for each key question we inspected against. We found the evidence continued to support the overall rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns.

This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection. At this inspection we found the service remained Good overall. We have however have made two recommendations within the Safe domain of this report.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons.' Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they felt safe as result of the care and support they received and staff understood their responsibility with regards to safeguarding people from abuse.

Staff were recruited safely, with appropriate checks undertaken before they commenced employment, however we have made a recommendation about these could be strengthened in future.

The building was being appropriately maintained, although we have made a recommendation regarding acting on any follow up repairs in a timely way.

There were enough staff available to care for and support people safely.

People had detailed risk assessments in their support plans and the service maintained a log of any accidents and incidents which had occurred, which detailed any follow up actions taken.

Appropriate systems were in place to manage people’s medication safely.

Staff told us they received enough training, induction, supervision and appraisal to support them in their role.

People received enough to eat and drink and we found any specific dietary requirements were adhered to.

The people we spoke with told us they were happy with the care and support they received and described staff as kind and caring.

The service was meeting the requirement of the accessible information standard (AIS).

The service used the recovery star as part of people’s care and support. The recovery star is an outcomes measure which enables people to measure their own recovery, with the help of staff. People’s care plans were centred around the recovery star, so staff could monitor their progress.

Complaints were investigated and responded to appropriately.

People had access to learning and development courses within the local community and these were also discussed during key worker reviews. Holidays and trips away were supported by staff if this was what people wanted to do.

There were systems in place to seek feedback from people using the service through satisfaction surveys. Residents meetings also took place for people to share their views.

A range of internal auditing systems were in place at both managerial and provider level so that the quality of service could be monitored effectively.

Policies and procedures were in place so that staff could seek advice about areas effecting their work if they needed to.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 October 2018

The service remains safe, although we have made two recommendations regarding staff recruitment and maintenance of the premises.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 October 2018

The service continued to be effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 16 October 2018

The service continued to be caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 October 2018

The service continued to be responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 16 October 2018

The service continued to be well-led.