You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Springfield House. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 December 2018

This inspection took place on the 26 September 2018 and was unannounced. This meant the provider and staff did not know we would be visiting.

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 3 February 2017 and rated it as good. After that inspection we received concerns in relation to their conditions of registration, namely that more people were using the service than it was legally registered to accommodate. As a result, we undertook a focused inspection to look into those concerns. This report only covers our findings in relation to those/this topic. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for (location's name) on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

We undertook this unannounced, focussed inspection on the 26 September 2018. We inspected the service against two of the five questions we ask about services: is the service well led? And is the service effective? No risks, concerns or significant improvement were identified in the remaining Key Questions through our on-going monitoring or during our inspection activity so we did not inspect them. The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for these Key Questions were included in calculating the overall rating in this inspection.

Springfield House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Springfield House accommodates up to three people in a converted farm. At the time of our inspection three people were living there. The service is located near town of Wigton. The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

The service had a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the time of our inspection the service had offered one person respite care on an informal basis. The registered manager agreed to apply to alter their registration to take this into account in the future. Any accidents or incidents had been reported to the Care Quality Commission as necessary. The home was clean and odour free.

People were supported to take adequate nutrition and hydration and told us the food was satisfactory. People were not unnecessarily deprived of their liberties .

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 3 May 2017

The service was safe.

The provider and staff understood their responsibilities in protecting vulnerable adults.

The house was safe and secure, there had been no accidents or incidents.

The home was suitably staffed and staff had remained stable for more than ten years.

Medicines were managed appropriately and there had been no instances of cross infection.

Effective

Good

Updated 7 December 2018

The service was effective.

People received adequate nutrition and hydration.

The staff were well trained and competent in their work.

People's rights were promoted and upheld.

Caring

Good

Updated 3 May 2017

The service was caring.

People were supported in a way that promoted their welfare and well-being.

People made choices about their lives and their independence and dignity were protected and actively promoted by staff in the home. People therefore received support that made a positive difference to their lives.

Staff were knowledgeable about supporting people in the end stages of their life and provided sensitive and compassionate support.

Responsive

Good

Updated 3 May 2017

The service was responsive.

Care plans provided detailed information to staff about people’s care needs, their likes, dislikes and preferences. Staff understood the concept of person-centred care and put this into practice when looking after people.

People were also encouraged to pursue their own hobbies or interests.

We saw that accessible information was available to show people how to raise complaints.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 7 December 2018

The service was not always well led.

A registration requirement was not being met. However the registered manager agreed to rectify this without delay.

There was a quality assurance system in place.

The registered manager promoted a positive caring culture.