You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Brampton Lodge. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 March 2017

This inspection was unannounced and took place on the 08, 09, 13 & 14 February 2017.

The home was previously inspected in July and August 2015 during which we found a breach of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 in relation to safe care and treatment. We found that medicines had not been managed in a safe way. We also found a breach of the Care Quality Commission (Registration) Regulations 2009 as the register person had failed to notify CQC of incidents of abuse or allegations of abuse.

During this inspection we found that the provider had taken action to address the breaches identified at the last inspection.

Brampton Lodge is a residential care home providing accommodation and nursing, personal and intermediate care for up to 59 older people, some of whom are living with dementia. The service is provided by Care Concepts (Appleton) Limited. At the time of our inspection the service was providing accommodation to 56 people.

All bedrooms are single, wheel chair accessible and have en-suite facilities which include a shower. Two passenger lifts are installed to enable access between the ground and first floor areas. The home is divided into four units and has four lounges and dining areas, a smaller lounge and various seating areas. There are three assisted bathrooms and a multipurpose room with hair salon.

At the time of the inspection a registered manager was in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

During our inspection of Brampton Lodge, we spent time talking with people using the service, their relatives and staff. We also undertook observations within the home. We saw that staff took take time to communicate and engage with people using the service and that people were treated with dignity and respect. Staff were also observed to be responsive and attentive to the needs of people using the service and people were empowered to follow their preferred routines.

The needs of people using the service had been assessed and planned for. Risk assessments had been completed alongside each care plan where appropriate, to help staff to identify and control potential and actual risks. Care and support plans viewed were person centred and included key information on what was important to people, their likes and dislikes, tips for promoting effective communication and key information on their support needs.

Staff recruitment systems were in place and information about prospective employees had been obtained to make sure staff did not pose a risk to people using the service.

Staff were supported through induction, regular on-going training and supervision to develop the necessary skills and competence for their roles.

People had access to health care professionals subject to their individual needs and medication was ordered, stored, administered and disposed of safely.

Corporate policies were in place relating to the MCA (Mental Capacity Act (2005) and DoLS (Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards). Staff had received training in relation to this protective legislation.

People had access to a range of activities available in the home and local community.

People had access to a choice of menu which offered a varied, balanced and wholesome diet.

Audits had been established to monitor service operations and systems were in place to safeguard people from abuse and to respond to complaints.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 March 2017

The service was safe.

Staff had received training in regard to safeguarding vulnerable adults and were aware of the procedures to follow if abuse was suspected.

Risk assessments had been updated regularly so that staff were aware of current risks for people using the service and the action they should take to manage them.

Recruitment procedures provided appropriate safeguards for people using the service and helped to ensure people were being cared for by staff that were suitable to work with vulnerable people.

People were protected from the risks associated with unsafe medicines management.

Effective

Good

Updated 21 March 2017

The service was effective.

Staff had completed Mental Capacity Act and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards training and had access to policies and procedures in respect of these provisions.

Staff had access to induction and a range of training that was relevant to individual roles and responsibilities.

People living at Brampton Lodge had access to a choice of wholesome and nutritious meals and received access to a range of health care professionals subject to individual need.

Caring

Good

Updated 21 March 2017

The service was caring.

Staff interactions were warm and relaxed and people using the service were treated with dignity and respect and their privacy was safeguarded.

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 March 2017

The service was responsive.

Care plans contained information that was personalised to help ensure people received care that was based upon their individual needs and preferences.

There was a complaints procedure in place. People's concerns and complaints were listened to and acted upon.

A range of individual and group activities were provide for people living within the home to participate in.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 March 2017

The service was well led.

The home had a registered manager who provided leadership and direction.

A range of auditing systems had been established so that the service could be monitored and developed. There were arrangements for people who lived in the home and their relatives to be consulted about their opinions of the service.