You are here

North London Home Care & Support Limited Enfield Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The inspection took place on 27, 28 and 29 November 2018 and was announced.

North London Home Care and Support Ltd is a domiciliary care agency providing personal care and support to people living in their own homes and flats. It also provides care and support to people living in specialist ‘extra care’ housing. Extra care housing is purpose-built or adapted single household accommodation in a shared site or building. The accommodation is rented, and is the occupant’s own home. People’s care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for extra care housing; this inspection looked at people’s personal care and support service.

Not everyone using the service receives regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with 'personal care'; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also take into account any wider social care provided. At the time of the inspection, approximately 90 people were receiving the regulated activity.

At our last inspection in May 2016, we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

People told us staff treated them with kindness and respect. People felt their dignity was respected which helped them to feel valued. Staff knew about people’s individual needs and encouraged independence.

People were protected from the risk of abuse and avoidable harm. Staff received training in safeguarding and were aware of who to contact if they had concerns.

Risk assessments were in place and were reviewed regularly. People’s medicines continued to be managed safely.

Recruitment was robust and there were sufficient staff available to support people to stay safe. Staff continued to receive appropriate training to give them the knowledge and skills they required to carry out their roles.

People’s needs continued to be assessed before they started using the service. Care plans were person-centred and detailed. People were supported with their meal preparation and to access healthcare services when required.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were aware of how to complain and knew who to contact if they wanted to make changes to the services they received.

The service continued to work in partnership with the local authority and external health care organisations.

Systems continued to be in place to monitor the quality of the service.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 19 December 2018

The service remains Good.